Adding a factor to n1 gauge

Latest Information on Sim Innovation's flagship product Air Manager

Moderators: russ, Ralph

Message
Author
Jonti25
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2023 12:40 pm

Adding a factor to n1 gauge

#1 Post by Jonti25 »

Hi - is it possible to add a factor to (for example) N1 so one can either increase or decrease the gauge indication? vs the actual N1 value from the sim? So, if actual N1 from sim was 55% but you wanted it to read 65% on the needle or digital readout on the software gauge is there a command to do that? Any tips much appreciated! R. Jon.

frumpy
Posts: 359
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 12:01 pm

Re: Adding a factor to n1 gauge

#2 Post by frumpy »

Never done it, but looking at the syntax it should be pretty easy. Just add a multiplier to the value.

Code: Select all

factor = .67
-- Set position to 75%
hw_stepper_motor_position(id, 0.75*factor, "CLOCKWISE")

Jonti25
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2023 12:40 pm

Re: Adding a factor to n1 gauge

#3 Post by Jonti25 »

But I think that syntax only refers to values used by hardware gauges? It says stepper motor. As far as I can see software gauges just call the percentage variable/ nothing else.

frumpy
Posts: 359
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 12:01 pm

Re: Adding a factor to n1 gauge

#4 Post by frumpy »

It's just a matter of math. You subscribe the value from the sim, then you do the postprocessing using LUA in AM, then do the displaying. Really not difficult, once you get the grip.

User avatar
Keith Baxter
Posts: 4684
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:00 am
Location: Botswana

Re: Adding a factor to n1 gauge

#5 Post by Keith Baxter »

Jonti25 wrote: Thu Dec 07, 2023 12:51 pm Hi - is it possible to add a factor to (for example) N1 so one can either increase or decrease the gauge indication? vs the actual N1 value from the sim? So, if actual N1 from sim was 55% but you wanted it to read 65% on the needle or digital readout on the software gauge is there a command to do that? Any tips much appreciated! R. Jon.
Hi,

Best to start here. There is so much basic info in these tutorials. Then move forward...

viewtopic.php?t=2787

Keith
AMD RYZEN 9 5950X CPU, Corsair H80I cooler, ASUS TUF GAMING B550-PLUS AMD Ryzen Mother Board,  32Gb ram Corsair Vengeance 3000Mh, MSI GTX960 4G graphics card 

Jonti25
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2023 12:40 pm

Re: Adding a factor to n1 gauge

#6 Post by Jonti25 »

Thanks for your reply… unfortunately I’ve no idea about that being a newbie - i just thought there might be a simple command to multiply the percentage in the code to get X pc increase or decrease… seems like there’s a few steps prior to do this that i’ve got no idea about.

Jonti25
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2023 12:40 pm

Re: Adding a factor to n1 gauge

#7 Post by Jonti25 »

Thanks for videos link - i’ll watch and hopefully get some ideas from that.

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 7910
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: Adding a factor to n1 gauge

#8 Post by Ralph »

My question is why you would want this.

Jonti25
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2023 12:40 pm

Re: Adding a factor to n1 gauge

#9 Post by Jonti25 »

just an idea to adjust values a few pc points as an easier way to get correct performance figures.

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 7910
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: Adding a factor to n1 gauge

#10 Post by Ralph »

Do you mean that the figures in the simulator aren't correct, or the figures in the Air Manager gauges? Because if it is that last case, then it would be a matter of finding the correct dataref / variable.

Post Reply