AM/AP 3.7.10 Issues

Are you building a cockpit, planning to build one or just dreaming, this is your cockpit builder meeting point

Moderators: russ, Ralph

Message
Author
SimPassion
Posts: 5346
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 12:22 am

AM/AP 3.7.10 Issues

#1 Post by SimPassion »

Hi @Ralph @Corjan, I have technical issues with communication between AM and AP in v3.7.10 on an hardware cockpit install which doesn't belongs to me, so I wondering if I could temporarily install one of my own old license I don't use any more (from AM 3) ? In the affirmative, I don't know how to log in from AM 3.7.10 as my own credentials only shows my current AM 4 installed licenses and some Unknown package, which I guess are the expected older ones from 3.7.10, however it shows only Unknown - Desktop / Wrong Product and it doesn't allow to de-activate anything ??? 🤔 In any case, I don't want to de-activate anything on the AM 4 branch, all are up and running or ready to run, so I wouldn't miss any of it !

Gilles

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 7932
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: AM/AP 3.7.10 Issues

#2 Post by Ralph »

Unknown in 4.x is indeed a 3.x license. You should be able to reset them from 4.x, but else definitely in 3.x.

SimPassion
Posts: 5346
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 12:22 am

Re: AM/AP 3.7.10 Issues

#3 Post by SimPassion »

Ralph wrote: Wed Apr 05, 2023 7:45 am Unknown in 4.x is indeed a 3.x license. You should be able to reset them from 4.x, but else definitely in 3.x.
No at all, the described packages are shown when I'm login from AM 3.7.10 :

image.png

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 7932
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: AM/AP 3.7.10 Issues

#4 Post by Ralph »

In 3.x you're seeing those 4.x as unknown. Both applications don't know each other.

SimPassion
Posts: 5346
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 12:22 am

Re: AM/AP 3.7.10 Issues

#5 Post by SimPassion »

Ralph wrote: Wed Apr 05, 2023 11:27 am In 3.x you're seeing those 4.x as unknown. Both applications don't know each other.
Ok I made it the other way round, so I will try to reset my old licenses with AM 4
Thanks for the head up Ralph ;-) 👍

SimPassion
Posts: 5346
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 12:22 am

Re: AM/AP 3.7.10 Issues

#6 Post by SimPassion »

Done, Thanks again Ralph 🙏

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 7932
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: AM/AP 3.7.10 Issues

#7 Post by Ralph »

It would be nicer if Air Manager 4 showed the 3.x licenses as 3.x, but we never took the effort.

SimPassion
Posts: 5346
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 12:22 am

Re: AM/AP 3.7.10 Issues

#8 Post by SimPassion »

So, back to the issue concern itself on AM/AP 3.7.10

I've installed Air Manager on local, on the same PC where Air Player 3.7.10 is running

I have only part of the whole binding made for the moment (I will add a bunch of buttons inputs and multiple encoders later, if all is working properly at first)
So, currently, hardware inputs like 1 x adc input, 10 x buttons input and a 5 x rotating switch input, I've bind on an Arduino Mega 2560, with additional 2 x buttons input on an Arduino Uno.
The issue come when I save the configuration to the Air Player, most of the binding is retained and properly shown, but the last rotating switch binding disappears from the device configuration, after Air player has restarted and I reload Air Manager. At the same time, indeed INFO SiRunner is mentioning "Failed to bind hardware" in the Air Player logs.

@Corjan, I'm wondering if there's still such well-known binding issue in AM/AP 3.7.10 and if so, if there's a workaround, where we are able to force the binding on each Air Player restart ?
I guess the binding is saved in the config.sqlite3 database ? Wondering also if I don't have any issue with the database itself, though I'm a bit reluctant to erase the Air Player database because there's a huge work to rebuild the configuration from scratch. This make me think I've asked years ago for a database consistency checker tool from SI, which would be very useful in many situations ;-)

I've noticed this in Air Player 3.7.10 logs, which doesn't occurs when running the instrument on Air Manager 3.7.10 :

Code: Select all

05-04-2023 13:54:18 ERROR SiRunner: R150ST - ARDUINO - HARDWARE HANDLING: logic.lua:12: Argument 'hw_id(2)' in function 'hw_switch_add' is not a string, which is not allowed
with either this :

Code: Select all

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
--		Generic Arduino Hardware INput/OUTput handling
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 local AM_Main_Release = "AM3.7.10"		-- Dedicated AM release
 local Date_Release = "03/31/2023"		-- Current release date

--	Author						Date			Release		Comments
--	-----------------			----------		-------		------------------------------------------------
--	enjxp_SimPassion			03.31.2023		1.0.0		Initial Release

hw_sw_starter	= hw_switch_add("MAGNETOS KEY", 5,
					function(starter_state)
						xpl_dataref_write("sim/cockpit2/engine/actuators/ignition_key","INT[8]", {starter_state}, 0)
						if starter_state == 4 then
							xpl_command("sim/ignition/engage_starter_1")
							xpl_command("sim/starters/engage_starter_1")
							xpl_command("sim/starters/engage_start_run_1")
							xpl_command("sim/operation/auto_start")
						end
					end)
if (hw_switch_get_position(hw_sw_starter) ~= nil) then
	xpl_dataref_write("sim/cockpit2/engine/actuators/ignition_key","INT[8]", {hw_switch_get_position(hw_sw_starter)}, 0)
end

or even with this :

Code: Select all

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
--		Generic Arduino Hardware INput/OUTput handling
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 local AM_Main_Release = "AM3.7.10"		-- Dedicated AM release
 local Date_Release = "03/31/2023"		-- Current release date

--	Author						Date			Release		Comments
--	-----------------			----------		-------		------------------------------------------------
--	enjxp_SimPassion			03.31.2023		1.0.0		Initial Release

function pr_starter(starter_state)
	xpl_dataref_write("sim/cockpit2/engine/actuators/ignition_key","INT[8]", {starter_state}, 0)
	if starter_state == 4 then
		xpl_command("sim/ignition/engage_starter_1")
		xpl_command("sim/starters/engage_starter_1")
		xpl_command("sim/starters/engage_start_run_1")
		xpl_command("sim/operation/auto_start")
	end
end

hw_sw_starter	= hw_switch_add("MAGNETOS KEY", 5, pr_starter)

if (hw_switch_get_position(hw_sw_starter) ~= nil) then
	xpl_dataref_write("sim/cockpit2/engine/actuators/ignition_key","INT[8]", {hw_switch_get_position(hw_sw_starter)}, 0)
end
image.png

SimPassion
Posts: 5346
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 12:22 am

Re: AM/AP 3.7.10 Issues

#9 Post by SimPassion »

Ralph wrote: Wed Apr 05, 2023 12:11 pm It would be nicer if Air Manager 4 showed the 3.x licenses as 3.x, but we never took the effort.
I think this is already the case :

image.png

And also on Orders popup window
 

SimPassion
Posts: 5346
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 12:22 am

Re: AM/AP 3.7.10 Issues

#10 Post by SimPassion »

Well, eventually made a database backup, then deleted config.sqlite3 file, restarted Air player, gone to Air manager, only added the hardware instrument with magnetos key handling in it (hw_switch_add), bind only magnetos key related hw inputs, saved to Air Player device and guess what ... same issue ! Again AM 3.7.10 and AP 3.7.10
Not mentioned, this PC is on Windows 7 64 bits ... does it matter ?

So, what's next @Corjan, any suggestion ?

Code: Select all

05-04-2023 13:54:18 INFO AirPlayer: Version 3.7.10 HOME_USE 

Post Reply