Vulkan requirement / Low Power Vulkan card recommendations

Peer support for Air Manager desktop users

Moderators: russ, Ralph

rbreault2707

Vulkan requirement / Low Power Vulkan card recommendations

#1 Post by rbreault2707 »

I am new to flight sim and hope to use XPLANE 12 to practice for my IFR rating.   I'm working to simulate the panel in my Grumman Tiger as closely as possible.  

Using Air Manager and Knobster I came close with my first try.   (Thanks Russ Barlow for his amazing videos!)  This first attempt used a new mid level gaming computer to drive the outside scenery on three 24" monitors and a laptop running air manager panel with a touch screen monitor and Knobster.  Knobster is brilliant btw!

The problem is, I need to add a Garmin 430W to my air manager panel.   In order to add the 430, I must have X-Plane running on the computer running Air Manager.  XPlane 12 requires a Vulkan capable video card to run.  The internal graphics on my laptop would  not support it so I resurrected an older desktop PC to run Air Manager and X-Plane.   The card in my older computer, (which ran Direct X fine for X-Plane 10) is not Vulkan compatible.  So... I ran out and dropped $300 on a Vulkan capable video card only to find my computer did not have the required 8 pin power connector or a big enough power supply to support it. 

Here are my questions:

1. Can anyone recommend a low power video card that will run Vulkan?  Again, fast graphics are not really important here, this computer is going to display my 2D panel only.

2. Is there any way to start XPlane 12 that will not require Vulkan compatibility?  Seems that would be a great feature if running X Plane 12 for this situation (or using it to manage/initiate flight system failures)

3. As an alternative, should I consider adding a (very simple) video card to my #1 computer (to drive a 4th monitor for my panels) and do everything on one computer?  I'm currently getting about 30FPS on my main scenery computer.