Pi Integrated with Mac for Instrumentation

Support for Air Player desktop on ARM devices, like the Raspberry Pi.

Moderators: russ, Ralph

strop

Pi Integrated with Mac for Instrumentation

#1 Post by strop »

Hi all,

An introduction as this might be a long post. Also hope this is the correct place to ask.

This is my first post here. I am new to X-Plane and simulation but enjoying my experiences so far. I have purchased a number of iPad apps to enhance my experience and while enjoying it I am not entirely happy with the experiences so far (some interactions are difficult). I should say, I am looking at ways to enhance it in the future with a solid plan before I spend any more hard earn $$$$$ on things I don’t need or are inappropriate.

I am a Mac user (Mac Mini M1). I don’t have space for 2 computer systems at home so I need to stay on a Mac based system for my other things so obviously X-Plane 12 needs to be Mac based.

So far successfully running a 3 screen setup ok, frame rate not great but ok for now. I am aware that you can not have touch screen monitors attached to a Mac - hence me purchasing the iPad apps to try and enhance what I am seeing/doing. What has become evident is some of the limitations of iPads.

iPad apps purchased. Air Manager (IOS), Simionic G1000 PFD/MFD. Air Manager has had a bit of use but not the Simionic Apps. Had a look at them and think they might be good/better on a 12.9” iPad. Don’t have any of those.

What I am thinking I want or need is to enhance the instrumentation experience with touch screens and knobster as shown by Russ Barlow on YouTube. He has a couple of videos that talk about the setup “FS2020 Budget Touchscreen Cockpit”, “Flat Panel Sim Touch Monitor” & “Honeycomb Alpha Yoke Panel Addon”. I can see that it could be setup for an easy switch over between flight simulator and work station.

So I have done some reading but just want to check with experienced people whether I can do what I am thinking about.

Setup