Stumped on the Cessna 172 G1000 STBY BATT switch in the TEST position

Questions about deployment and use of Air Manager Instruments

Moderators: russ, Ralph

XPLOU

Stumped on the Cessna 172 G1000 STBY BATT switch in the TEST position

#1 Post by XPLOU »

I'm rather new to X-Plane and very new to Air Manager but I have coded proferssionally for most of my life so thought I would take a stab at reproducing a C172 G1000 switch panel.

Note that I have never touched LUA in my life so there was a bit of a learning curve there. I also had to learn all of the AM functions but I watched all of Tony's videos (very helpful) and have read quite a bit of forum posts.

Master and Avionics rockers as well as the basic two-way toggle switches were easy. The Land/Recog/Tax 3-way switch was a tad harder but managed that ok. And now I am left with just the STBY BATT thjree way switch but that has a unique behaviour in that you can push it up to ARM and it will stay there, you can put it in off and it will stay there, but to run the test you have to push it down and keep it down for the time you want to run the test, then you take your finger off of it and it will slide itself back into off.

It's that TEST position that I've been playing with to get it to work.

Maybe someone has already done this switch panel already in Air Manager but I have not found it. I've tried finding a similar switch on the downloadable panels and instruments to see if I could find a coding example but haven't had any luck there, either.

I have attached a picture of the panel for refrerence.
SwitchPanel.jpg
You can see a real-life switch being TEST actuated in this video at about the 8:13 minute mark.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2go2vw1DP0A
SwitchPanel.jpg
Maybe someone can point me to an already coded panel or switch and barring that might have an idea on how to deal with coding this up.