Modifying an stock instrument

Questions about deployment and use of Air Manager Instruments

Moderators: russ, Ralph

pepebky

Modifying an stock instrument

#1 Post by pepebky »

I need to add a functionality to the stock KX-165 that is available for download from the web.
The KX-165 has a push button on the NAV decimal encoder that modifies what shows the digits above it.
In normal mode it shows active freq and standby freq.
Pressing that button shows active freq and the radial to the station.
This functionality is very important for pilots who are just starting out, as it allows them to determine their position more easily.
Can I modify the instrument and then upload it to share this improvement?.
Should this work be done by the siminnovation team?
I am totally new to programming and it will be a bit difficult for me to do it, but I can try. I look forward to your answers.
Thanks

Jose

Keith Baxter

Re: Modifying an stock instrument

#2 Post by Keith Baxter »

Hi,

Yes you can. Clone the original and use that clone to do your thing.
This is the best way to learn.
It is polite to contact the original instrument author and advise what you are doing and give credit to his work.

Keith
AMD RYZEN 9 5950X CPU, Corsair H80I cooler, ASUS TUF GAMING B550-PLUS AMD Ryzen Mother Board,  32Gb ram Corsair Vengeance 3000Mh, MSI GTX960 4G graphics card 

Sling

#3 Post by Sling »