Is the DIY knobster obsolete?

Support for the SimWareKits Knobster in combination with Air Manager and Air Player

Moderators: russ, Ralph

paul_max

Is the DIY knobster obsolete?

#1 Post by paul_max »

It's very confusing to be told the DIY knobster is no longer supported. It makes me think, don't upgrade to AM4.

Can AM4 flash an Arduino to work like KnobXP or not? Are we forced to spend 95 Euros plus shipping in addition to upgrading to AM4? That's mad when I have an Pro Micro and dual encoder in my spares box.

If Sim Innovations have deliberately put a secret code in the KnobXP to boost income I find that offensive. First Russ had declared he wanted the Knobster to be freely available. Second as an electronics/software engineer I know the two versions are virtually identical internally.

Worst case, everyone will abandon the KnobXP and build up equivalent software support in the community. The Knobster plus a LUA layer can do everything the KnobXP can do. Sounds like a shot in the foot?

What's going on?

Regards
Paul

Corjan

Re: Is the DIY knobster obsolete?

#2 Post by Corjan »

Hi Paul,

Oh oh, the accusations :)

The DIY knobster has been introduced in AM 3 and is still supported in AM 4. Also, we have no plans to remove it from Air Manager, so it will stay in place for future releases also.

KnobXP has never supported the DIY knobster (it was released after we where selling the regular knobster).
We are a commercial company, so we have to earn something somewhere. Since KnobXP is free software, we make money on selling the hardware.

Corjan

Corjan

#3 Post by Corjan »

paul_max wrote: Tue Nov 09, 2021 3:03 pm It's very confusing to be told the DIY knobster is no longer supported.
Just wondering, what or who made you think this?

Corjan

Keith Baxter

#4 Post by Keith Baxter »

Corjan wrote: Tue Nov 09, 2021 3:54 pm
paul_max wrote: Tue Nov 09, 2021 3:03 pm It's very confusing to be told the DIY knobster is no longer supported.