How to interface FSUIPC based software

Latest Information on Sim Innovation's flagship product Air Manager

Moderators: russ, Ralph

Message
Author
Shimokuta
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2021 12:52 pm

Re: How to interface FSUIPC based software

#11 Post by Shimokuta »

Shimokuta wrote: Sun Feb 21, 2021 11:25 am
flyatr wrote: Sat Feb 20, 2021 1:52 pm What I did instead of unused SimConnect variables was create a simple XML gauge where I'd introduce new LVars.
FSUIPC can write to them, Air Manager will find them as "available LVars".

You can see this in my instrument "Vertical speed indicator / VSI with traffic display for ATR-500" in the store.

This sample XML code will create 3 user defined variables in an FSX aircraft. There is no declaration, they exist just by being used.

Code: Select all

<Gauge Name="TrafficInfo" Version="1.0"> 
<Size X="400" Y="300" />
		<Update Frequency="5" Hidden="No">
				<!-- Clear old values -->
				0 (&gt;L:TCAS_bearing,degrees) 
					(&gt;L:TCAS_distance,nmiles) 
					(&gt;L:TCAS_altitude, feet)
					
				[...]
				
        </Update>
 </Gauge>
Ah ok....that is interesting!!
thx
can you explain how to use this xml in prepar3d/fsx.
do i have to place it in the gauges folder and then edit the gauge.cfg?

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 7876
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: How to interface FSUIPC based software

#12 Post by Ralph »

Those look like Lvars to me, so I'm not sure why you would need FSUIPC?

User avatar
Sling
Posts: 5237
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:37 pm
Contact:

Re: How to interface FSUIPC based software

#13 Post by Sling »

Shimokuta wrote: Sun Feb 21, 2021 11:24 am
jph wrote: Fri Feb 19, 2021 1:28 pm
Ralph wrote: Thu Feb 18, 2021 6:09 pm Why would you need FSUIPC?
Yes, I am also interested in why. ?
Well ADD-ON software developers use FSUIPC interface with the for developers available FSUIPC Offsets.
They wrote coding round those offsets which i can not use.
I know things are changing with new versions and all, but so far i am missing functionality and still have the need for FSUIPC
Can you provide a small example with the specific data that you are trying to interface to. The aircraft dev’s snippet may help also. I’m not a huge FSUIPC user but I thought every offset was mapped to a simvar. If this is the case you just need to know what the simvar is for AM to be able to work with it.

Shimokuta
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2021 12:52 pm

Re: How to interface FSUIPC based software

#14 Post by Shimokuta »

Hello

Well i am trying to create a TCAS display.
There are no simconnect variables where i am aware of for fsx/prepar3d to plot the lon/lat position of ai aircrafts.
In fsuipc there are offsets.
So lvars are an option, but i am unfamiliar how to create a gauge for use with lvars

User avatar
Sling
Posts: 5237
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:37 pm
Contact:

Re: How to interface FSUIPC based software

#15 Post by Sling »

LVARs work just like regular simvars. You just put the L: in front of the LVAR name and that’s as hard as it gets.

Shimokuta
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2021 12:52 pm

Re: How to interface FSUIPC based software

#16 Post by Shimokuta »

flyatr wrote: Sat Feb 20, 2021 1:52 pm What I did instead of unused SimConnect variables was create a simple XML gauge where I'd introduce new LVars.
FSUIPC can write to them, Air Manager will find them as "available LVars".

You can see this in my instrument "Vertical speed indicator / VSI with traffic display for ATR-500" in the store.

This sample XML code will create 3 user defined variables in an FSX aircraft. There is no declaration, they exist just by being used.

Code: Select all

<Gauge Name="TrafficInfo" Version="1.0"> 
<Size X="400" Y="300" />
		<Update Frequency="5" Hidden="No">
				<!-- Clear old values -->
				0 (&gt;L:TCAS_bearing,degrees) 
					(&gt;L:TCAS_distance,nmiles) 
					(&gt;L:TCAS_altitude, feet)
					
				[...]
				
        </Update>
 </Gauge>
With LVars my "project"of creating a TCAS screen finally has made some progress.
It seemed i did not placed the xml gauge in the right (sub) folder.
So after correcting this the TCAS Lvars are present!!

Thanks!

Post Reply