Multiple Pi’s

Support for Air Player desktop on ARM devices, like the Raspberry Pi.

Moderators: russ, Ralph

Message
Author
t28pilot
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 11:04 am

Re: Multiple Pi’s

#11 Post by t28pilot »

Have you made sure you have activated your AirPlayer licenses? For whatever reason Air Manager forgets that from time to time. When I launch AM, the AP icons turn orange and the IP address shows up in the pane to the right. I'll take a picture and show you when I get the chance today.

Mccluress
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2021 10:28 am

Re: Multiple Pi’s

#12 Post by Mccluress »

Yes they were activated in the first picture. Then they somehow get reset and deactivated as in the second picture. When I go to reactivate, Air Manager recognizes that they are tied to a license and just reuses the same one to reactivate it. When it does that, it usually wipes all the panels and instruments I had on that Air Player as well making me start over assigning them. The third picture shows a line that says the license is valid also.

Mccluress
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2021 10:28 am

Re: Multiple Pi’s

#13 Post by Mccluress »

I bought a new Pi 4 to try and use just Pi 4s but my license can’t be reset. I took the time to look at the pi 4 log and realized it is a different error. It appears that whenever I lose the “sim video stream client” connection, that is when air player shuts down. If I start it manually from the pi after that shutdown, everything works right again. I think it is definitely something within air manager and more specifically the video stream function, now that I have that additional information. I could be wrong on all parts though. It could be something else causing it and i just can’t see it. You guys do good work and I appreciate that the program is at where it’s at today.
IMG_6760.jpeg

t28pilot
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 11:04 am

Re: Multiple Pi’s

#14 Post by t28pilot »

Dang - sorry I have been offline for a bit.

So have you gotten anywhere? I ended up running AirPlayer on both RPi 4's for the video portion of the the G5's, and ran AirPlayer on the XP Master machine to assign the rotary encoder, rotary encoder push button and on/off button. This at least allows me to fly and the G5's are functioning now except the G5 information pop up bar that is supposed to display when you push in the rotary encoder no longer displays - go figure.

Talk about frustration - yeah I get that. Especially when we are troubleshooting and run out of licenses......IMO these licenses should never expire. Just like in the .org store.

Scott

Mccluress
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2021 10:28 am

Re: Multiple Pi’s

#15 Post by Mccluress »

Well it’s good to know someone has the air player video working at least. Makes me wonder what’s going on with mine even more. I’m just using the standard code in the wiki for video stream gauges. Maybe I’ll delete it all once I get the license reset and make sure it just works period.

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 7913
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: Multiple Pi’s

#16 Post by Ralph »

There are some issues with the Pi it seems, or maybe Air Player in general. It'll take some time to iron these out. We will be doing some testing, and see if we can make it fail. If you have any instruments or panels that do this on your device, then please share them with us.

t28pilot
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 11:04 am

Re: Multiple Pi’s

#17 Post by t28pilot »

Hello Ralph,

Native RPi's display the G5's fine except the rotary encoders do not function at all - yes they are called out in Air Manager. Chuck helped me troubleshoot so we ended up running AirPlayer on both RPi 4's for the video portion of the the G5's, and ran AirPlayer on the XP Master machine to assign the rotary encoders, rotary encoder push buttons and on/off buttons. This at least allows me to fly and the G5's are functioning now except the G5 information pop up bar that is supposed to display when you push in the rotary encoder no longer displays. Hope this helps.

Scott

ChuckK
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 2:33 pm

Re: Multiple Pi’s

#18 Post by ChuckK »

Ralph,

Additionally, I have noticed with AirManager only (without AP) all of the button, switch and encoder input responses are lagging. It takes multiple button presses to effect a change, and encoders often skip steps. This started with 4.2.x.

Chuck

User avatar
Corjan
Posts: 2938
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 9:04 am

Re: Multiple Pi’s

#19 Post by Corjan »

Hi,


Will try to get to the root cause tomorrow for the Raspberry Pi encoder issue.


Corjan

Mccluress
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2021 10:28 am

Re: Multiple Pi’s

#20 Post by Mccluress »

I don’t know what I could be doing wrong. I put two pi 4s on last night and I’m still having issues with it disconnecting and then telling me it needs to be reactivated. Seems odd if others are running multiple pi with video streaming.

Post Reply