VORs with glideslope needle (AM 4.1)

Latest Information on Sim Innovation's flagship product Air Manager

Moderators: russ, Ralph

Post Reply
Message
Author
Piotrpaw
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2024 4:57 pm
Location: Salt Lake City

VORs with glideslope needle (AM 4.1)

#1 Post by Piotrpaw »

All the VORs that are available in Air Mgr. (at least for GA) that have the glideslope needle are set to work with NAV1 ONLY. It is a bit frustrating. I’d like to couple the NAV1 VOR with the GPS unit, while the NAV2 with the ILS. The only VOR that I can tune to the radio is the C172 NAV2 which is a single needle (localizer only) type. Is there another one available in Air Manager that could be set up as NAV2 and has both loc and GS indicators?

frumpy
Posts: 361
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 12:01 pm

Re: VORs with glideslope needle (AM 4.1)

#2 Post by frumpy »

Not sure if I get you right. Did you try to use "sim/cockpit2/radios/indicators/nav2_vdef_dots_copilot" with the NAV2 HSI? What exactly are you trying to do, which aircraft, which gauges?

JackZ
Posts: 2267
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:02 pm

Re: VORs with glideslope needle (AM 4.1)

#3 Post by JackZ »

First your request seems a bit weird if I may…
An ILS indicator is perfectly able to perform as VOR only if tuned to a VOR station.
The GS needle will stay horizontal that’s it.
For this reason, in real life the normal main indicator is the ILS on NAV1 and a (cheaper) VOR hooked on NAV2 as a backup, or for cross navigation reference with two radials

There often exists also a switch on the dashboard that allows to permute the source NAV1/NAV2 as needed

As a side note, and since this is your first message: this forum like nearly all the others is filled with REAL people.

In real life, you would likely never enter a room full of strangers and ask a question out loud without, you know, those little words which are “hello, thank you, please”, unless being considered as rude, and at best be simply ignored.

There is no difference here.
Thank you for taking this into account, this forum is NOT ChatGPT
My YouTube Chanel on the A320 (Real SOPs by an Airline Pilot IRL):
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... 0Q6SBASRqJ

Piotrpaw
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2024 4:57 pm
Location: Salt Lake City

Re: VORs with glideslope needle (AM 4.1)

#4 Post by Piotrpaw »

[attachment=0]IMG_0335.pdf[/attachment]Ok. Sorry if I wasn’t clear. I’m trying to recreate my real life aircraft set up. My G5 in my Skyhawks 172P is connected to the GPS unit (GNC355) which doesn’t have the VLOC switch (no green needle on HSI; only magenta). My NAV1 VOR is coupled with this unit (it provides an additional (redundant) GPS navigation and can’t be tuned to a radio signal (I use in real-life flying for RNAV LPV approaches as a 'sanity check' to HSI). I have another, almost identical VOR unit connected to NAV2. This is the one that can be tuned to the radio signal and I use it to tune to both, a VOR station and/or the ILS signal (ie it has both localizer and glideslope indicator needles). My radio doesn’t have the option of switching between different NAV sources. It is set to NAV2.

This seems to be impossible to achieve in sim, as VORs available in Air Manager come with the NAV1 assignment. The only exception is the one that comes with the C172 AM panel, but this is A VOR station signal receiver (single vertical needle and no glideslope needle). No other of the 5 available in AM receivers can be coupled with NAV2.

This all good for VOR navigation, but useless for the ILS approaches.

The instrument settings for AM’s VORs doesn’t allow to change NAV assignments. The BOTTOM LINE: is the there any way to change (what appears) hardcoded NAV assignments on any VOR receivers that are available in Air Manager?


Thanks
Attachments
IMG_0335.pdf
(222.46 KiB) Downloaded 15 times

JackZ
Posts: 2267
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:02 pm

Re: VORs with glideslope needle (AM 4.1)

#5 Post by JackZ »

“Hardcoded” is not really the term here IMHO.
Merely “coded” instead, that means that you have access to the Lua code and this code can be amended/modified to suit your needs.

Just a reminder: most of the instruments found on the Airmanager online store are freeware and made by the community. Meaning with no warranty nor « after sales » support if the creator doesn’t want to..

So to achieve what you want (ie a new feature/function over an existing instrument), you have two solutions:
Either gracefully ask if someone could/would do the modification for you, and in that case accept the possibility that nobody is/will be interested to do so, OR bite the bullet and start learning how to modify the existing code to suit your needs, and then publish the result for the community.

Good news is, that modifying the source code for what you want is merely changing ONE parameter in the code.
The forum is here to help provided that you prove you made the initial efforts to work on it by yourself.

Go ahead, you’ll eventually find it fun and rewarding…
My YouTube Chanel on the A320 (Real SOPs by an Airline Pilot IRL):
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... 0Q6SBASRqJ

Post Reply