Karl is performing a very clean work on wiring
Button array cdu
-
- Posts: 4528
- Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 12:22 am
Re: Button array cdu
Outside the 737 concern, this amazed me and is really full of interest : https://www.737diysim.com/product-page/ ... t-throttle
Karl is performing a very clean work on wiring
Karl is performing a very clean work on wiring
Re: Button array cdu
After do some testing and made some errors in my PCB layouts :S , i was testing my final PCB for the CDU fully wired to the arduino
But now i get "echo's" sometimes; when i press a button other button(s) also seem to be pressed, which is not the case.
There are no shortcuts in the PCB as far as i can tell.
What is getting wrong here?

But now i get "echo's" sometimes; when i press a button other button(s) also seem to be pressed, which is not the case.
There are no shortcuts in the PCB as far as i can tell.
What is getting wrong here?
Re: Button array cdu
Ghosting, more about it here: https://pcbheaven.com/wikipages/How_Key_Matrices_Works/
Re: Button array cdu
Hmm yes , allready found articles on arduino forums
Allright, pcb trial four …

Allright, pcb trial four …

-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2021 9:03 pm
Re: Button array cdu
Not sure if I should start a new thread as it is kinda related with button array but not exactly for CDU.
Problem:
I have designed a PCB that requires 11x6 button array.
Only to realize after soldering everything that AirManager Wiki says: maximum of 8x8 for Arduino.
Great -_-"
Question = Is it possible (or even worth it) to save my PCB by writing our own array process in LUA?
If (Q == yes)
could anyone please post an example for me to follow.
else
I scrap the PCB and start designing version 8 (while crying)
end
Problem:
I have designed a PCB that requires 11x6 button array.
Only to realize after soldering everything that AirManager Wiki says: maximum of 8x8 for Arduino.
Great -_-"
Question = Is it possible (or even worth it) to save my PCB by writing our own array process in LUA?
If (Q == yes)
could anyone please post an example for me to follow.
else
I scrap the PCB and start designing version 8 (while crying)
end
Re: Button array cdu
You can use your own Arduino sketch if you want.
-
- Posts: 4528
- Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 12:22 am
Re: Button array cdu
As Ralph already stated
Here's a sample to be adapted in order to be used in a SI_Message_Port ino sketch
http://robojax.com/learn/arduino/?vid=r ... h_buttons1
your sample of 11 x 6 = 17 input would fit both of the following ones :
with the solution of MUX IC like the CD74HC4067 :
https://www.sparkfun.com/products/9056
or even Shift register 74HC165 / MCP23017 like mentioned here :
https://forum.arduino.cc/t/push-button-array/244307/2
using 74HC165 shift register can also handle inputs :
https://dronebotworkshop.com/shift-regi ... he_74HC165
Sample using MCP23017 :
https://tronixstuff.com/2011/08/26/ardu ... -tutorial/
References include SI_Message_Port :
----------------------------------------------
https://siminnovations.com/wiki/index.p ... ssage_port
http://siminnovations.com/wiki/index.php?title=Arduino
http://siminnovations.com/wiki/index.ph ... re_id_list
http://siminnovations.com/wiki/index.ph ... e_port_add
http://siminnovations.com/wiki/index.ph ... _port_send
http://siminnovations.com/wiki/index.ph ... I#Hardware
https://siminnovations.com/wiki/index.p ... rt_library
Here's a sample to be adapted in order to be used in a SI_Message_Port ino sketch
http://robojax.com/learn/arduino/?vid=r ... h_buttons1
your sample of 11 x 6 = 17 input would fit both of the following ones :
with the solution of MUX IC like the CD74HC4067 :
https://www.sparkfun.com/products/9056
or even Shift register 74HC165 / MCP23017 like mentioned here :
https://forum.arduino.cc/t/push-button-array/244307/2
using 74HC165 shift register can also handle inputs :
https://dronebotworkshop.com/shift-regi ... he_74HC165
Sample using MCP23017 :
https://tronixstuff.com/2011/08/26/ardu ... -tutorial/
References include SI_Message_Port :
----------------------------------------------
https://siminnovations.com/wiki/index.p ... ssage_port
http://siminnovations.com/wiki/index.php?title=Arduino
http://siminnovations.com/wiki/index.ph ... re_id_list
http://siminnovations.com/wiki/index.ph ... e_port_add
http://siminnovations.com/wiki/index.ph ... _port_send
http://siminnovations.com/wiki/index.ph ... I#Hardware
https://siminnovations.com/wiki/index.p ... rt_library
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2021 9:03 pm
Re: Button array cdu
AWESOME.
Thank you for pointing the direction.
Thank you for pointing the direction.
Re: Button array cdu
yes, exactly, you can use your existing sketch for Arduino as Ralph says.
Just use 'Messageport' to act as the gateway between your sketch and Air Manager.
This is the beauty of Messageport. You can use virtually ANY existing arduino code you have written and add MP on top to handle the simple data transfer so there are few modifications to your code needed.
Joe
Joe. CISSP, MSc.
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2021 9:03 pm
Re: Button array cdu
Thank you for all the input.
Awesome ideas.
I endup designing a new board with 8x8 matrix.
All button is now working. Yay!!
Awesome ideas.
I endup designing a new board with 8x8 matrix.
All button is now working. Yay!!