(2) knob knobster and (3) knob instrument

Support for KnobXP, share your experience and KnobXP modes.

Moderators: russ, Ralph

Post Reply
Message
Author
Kaellis991
Posts: 581
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2020 8:49 am

(2) knob knobster and (3) knob instrument

#1 Post by Kaellis991 »

I am getting the hang of creating custom KnobXP scripts, but have run into a little quirk with this Piper Arrow.
It would be helpful to add the ADF freq. controls but the ADF freqs. are defined by ones, tens, and hundreds...i.e. three knobs.
Since the knobster has only the inner and outer knobs, I am able to set them up for the ones and tens on the ADF radio.
But is there a way to get a knobster knob, perhaps the large knob, to swap between tens and hundreds with the press of the push button?

SimPassion
Posts: 5336
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 12:22 am

Re: (2) knob knobster and (3) knob instrument

#2 Post by SimPassion »

I guess the best would be to bring two different mode for ADF
one for hundreds and tens, the other for tens and ones, as I don't see we are able to switch between different features inside a single mode, though I could be wrong and I will have a look into it

Gilles

Kaellis991
Posts: 581
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2020 8:49 am

Re: (2) knob knobster and (3) knob instrument

#3 Post by Kaellis991 »

That's an idea....didnt think about that.

SimPassion
Posts: 5336
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 12:22 am

Re: (2) knob knobster and (3) knob instrument

#4 Post by SimPassion »

Just seen the inner is moving the tens and ones and the outer is moving thousands and hundreds, it's just that we have to switch the current targeting standby, to the same targeting active

so, this :

Code: Select all

{
	"name":	"ADF1 frequency",
	"minor_cw_cmd":	"sim/radios/stby_adf1_ones_tens_up",
	"minor_ccw_cmd":	"sim/radios/stby_adf1_ones_tens_down",
	"major_cw_cmd":	"sim/radios/stby_adf1_hundreds_thous_up",
	"major_ccw_cmd":	"sim/radios/stby_adf1_hundreds_thous_down",
	"button_released_cmd":	"sim/radios/adf1_standy_flip",
    "order": 305000
}
should be in a new Mode file :

Code: Select all

{
	"name":	"ADF1 frequency Thranda",
	"minor_cw_cmd":	"sim/radios/actv_adf1_ones_tens_up",
	"minor_ccw_cmd":	"sim/radios/actv_adf1_ones_tens_down",
	"major_cw_cmd":	"sim/radios/actv_adf1_hundreds_thous_up",
	"major_ccw_cmd":	"sim/radios/actv_adf1_hundreds_thous_down",
	"button_released_cmd":	"sim/radios/adf1_standy_flip",
    "order": 305000
}

SimPassion
Posts: 5336
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 12:22 am

Re: (2) knob knobster and (3) knob instrument

#5 Post by SimPassion »

It works, it's just that thousands digit is not displayed on this ADF unit

image.png

Kaellis991
Posts: 581
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2020 8:49 am

Re: (2) knob knobster and (3) knob instrument

#6 Post by Kaellis991 »

I will give that a try later....thanks

User avatar
Sling
Posts: 5237
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:37 pm
Contact:

Re: (2) knob knobster and (3) knob instrument

#7 Post by Sling »

It’s quite common for the 1000s and 100s to be combined such that the knob only changes by 100 with each click. You can make this work with whatever combo you want it’s just a case of making the script do what you want.

Kaellis991
Posts: 581
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2020 8:49 am

Re: (2) knob knobster and (3) knob instrument

#8 Post by Kaellis991 »

Sling wrote: Thu Sep 08, 2022 3:06 am It’s quite common for the 1000s and 100s to be combined such that the knob only changes by 100 with each click. You can make this work with whatever combo you want it’s just a case of making the script do what you want.

It works now.
In the aircraft, the right inner knob scrolls thru the ones while the right outer knob adjusts the 10s.
The left inner and outer knobs both scroll through the 100s. There are no 1000s on this ADF radio.
Since NDBs across the U.S. are in the range of 190 to 535 kHz, there is no need for the 1000s digits.

The knobster's inner knob scrolls though the ones and then increments though the 10s from 00 to 99, while the outer knob adjusts the 100s.
So all is good.

Thanks for your help.
image.png

Post Reply