RPi Pico problem

Support for connecting hardware to the Raspberry Pi GPIO

Moderators: russ, Ralph

Post Reply
Message
Author
FrankK
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2022 1:53 pm

RPi Pico problem

#1 Post by FrankK »

I've a problem with a RPi Pico not functioning in AM 4. I've flashed the Pico and AM sees it fine. I've even followed the Russ Barlow tutorial to the letter for Avionics the switch but to no avail.
It's as if the program isn't being written to the Pico. The Pico seems fine as I used Thonny to run the blinky led program.
Should the be a menu item in Add Device for RPi ?

I've a PicoW on the way , looks like I should have ordered a Arduino Nano too.

Regards,
FrankK

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 6795
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: RPi Pico problem

#2 Post by Ralph »

'Not functioning' is a bit of a vague description. Can you please give us more information?

FrankK
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2022 1:53 pm

Re: RPi Pico problem

#3 Post by FrankK »

Nothing is happening when I short the required GP0 GP1 or GP2 to ground in create/edit and The Raspberry Pi Pico (A) tab in Home doesn't seem to have any assignments in it, says Pin Mode and Connected.
I've been able to force it in create/edit but not by taking the pins to ground.

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 6795
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: RPi Pico problem

#4 Post by Ralph »

Still not really sure. But maybe you should show your script or some screenshots.

User avatar
jph
Posts: 2252
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:50 pm
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow..

Re: RPi Pico problem

#5 Post by jph »

works fine. You need to add more detail
pico PBCAC.jpg
“Everything in moderation, including moderation.”
“Experience is merely the name men gave to their mistakes.”
Joe (CISSP) -IT security consultant

User avatar
jph
Posts: 2252
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:50 pm
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow..

Re: RPi Pico problem

#6 Post by jph »

Oh, and here it is under the home tab -
crap.jpg
you really need to add all the information so folks can help rather than jumping to assumptions.
“Everything in moderation, including moderation.”
“Experience is merely the name men gave to their mistakes.”
Joe (CISSP) -IT security consultant

FrankK
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2022 1:53 pm

Re: RPi Pico problem

#7 Post by FrankK »

I'll check the board out , if the I/O pins aren't high I must have a short somewhere or the board is faulty. I've another one somewhere of the front of a magazine.
Thanks for the screenshots.

FrankK
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2022 1:53 pm

Re: RPi Pico problem

#8 Post by FrankK »

Nothing wrong with the Pico, no shorts, nothing wrong with the software.
I was working off the screen printed legends on the back of the board and the first three are all cramped up due to the mounting hole.
So I was using pin 4 instead of 3 as a ground and so on. It was never going to work, the shot of the breadboard put me on to it and the DVM confirmed it within a minute.
Apologies for wasting your time, time to get on with building a panel. :oops:

User avatar
jph
Posts: 2252
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:50 pm
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow..

Re: RPi Pico problem

#9 Post by jph »

No worries Frank, we have all done it. ! :D
the markings are a bit of a sod on the PICO.
Print off a little card with the markings on. Luckily every 5th pin from third down is ground (more or less, but in a pattern)
This one is great.

Pico-R3-A4-Pinout.pdf
(377 KiB) Downloaded 22 times
.
and the schematic is here if needed.

Joe
Attachments
schematic.png
“Everything in moderation, including moderation.”
“Experience is merely the name men gave to their mistakes.”
Joe (CISSP) -IT security consultant

Post Reply