FS2020 Fenix?

Let Sim Innovations know about your Air Manager experience and let us know about your dream feature addition

Moderators: Ralph, russ

Message
Author
User avatar
olof
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2019 5:37 pm

FS2020 Fenix?

#1 Post by olof »

Just started playing with this wonderful model.
In my somewhat messy development cockpit.
Fenix  - 1 (1).jpeg
Is anyone else playing with this model yet. Pop-outs work great. Somewhat limited on Variable information.

I am just starting to figure out what I can make work.

User avatar
Crunchmeister
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2021 2:06 pm

Re: FS2020 Fenix?

#2 Post by Crunchmeister »

Over at Simstrumentation, we're working on an MCDU / FMS overlay that should be done in a few days. Outside of that though, there are too many people currently working on converting various XP A320 instruments for the FBW A32X. Rather than fragmenting the ecosystem even more by making our own conversion for Fenix, we're going to let one of those folks take on converting the FBW instruments to work with Fenix. Most of the programming legwork on their end should already be done in terms of making the instruments work with MSFS. It should just be a matter of using a user property to select between FBW and Fenix and inserting the proper lvar calls for Fenix where applicable.

User avatar
olof
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2019 5:37 pm

Re: FS2020 Fenix?

#3 Post by olof »

That is great, please keep us updated on progress.

JackZ
Posts: 2159
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:02 pm

Re: FS2020 Fenix?

#4 Post by JackZ »

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but don’t keep your hopes up with the possibilities of Fenix interfacing in AM.
1- Fenix’s terms and conditions (which I am sure you have read) says explicitly in 6.4
6.4. The Software must not be used on home cockpits.
I guess this is because Fenix is relying on the (+1000€) A320 Prosim software they licensed for their own product and I guess their licence prohibits this use.

2- Fenixsim apparently made sure that home cockpit interfacing with their software will be very difficult to achieve, mainly by publishing very little interface information such as Lvars or the like.
They published this quite limited list on their documentation.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... edit#gid=0

Jacques
My YouTube Chanel on the A320 (Real SOPs by an Airline Pilot IRL):
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... 0Q6SBASRqJ

Helibrewer
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2021 2:20 am

Re: FS2020 Fenix?

#5 Post by Helibrewer »

Variables.xlsx
(44.35 KiB) Downloaded 16 times
I grabbed these but haven't started playing yet, still converting PMDG for MSF2020 stuff

JackZ
Posts: 2159
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:02 pm

Re: FS2020 Fenix?

#6 Post by JackZ »

Nice find, thanks! Out of curiosity, how did you find those LVars?

Had a quick and dirty trial gauge setup and found out that the Lvars seems to be working.
Was able to send MCDU keypresses to the screen with those two lines of code.

Code: Select all

fs2020_variable_write("L:S_CDU1_KEY_1","INT",1)
fs2020_variable_write("L:S_CDU1_KEY_2","INT",1)
image.png
So far so good, but apparently there is no output variables found yet, so FCU or EFIS controls are not at the menu for the moment.

Jacques
My YouTube Chanel on the A320 (Real SOPs by an Airline Pilot IRL):
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... 0Q6SBASRqJ

User avatar
Crunchmeister
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2021 2:06 pm

Re: FS2020 Fenix?

#7 Post by Crunchmeister »

JackZ wrote: Sun May 22, 2022 1:57 pm Nice find, thanks! Out of curiosity, how did you find those LVars?
There's over 1000 inputs / outputs (354 of those are outputs) documented for the Fenix A320 over at https://hubhop.mobiflight.com/

User avatar
Puukka
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2021 1:25 pm

Re: FS2020 Fenix?

#8 Post by Puukka »

6.4. The Software must not be used on home cockpits.
I really wonder what‘s the definition of a Home-Cockpit?
Several Monitors or TCA/Honeycomb?
Herbert Puukka

MSFS - Air Manager Piper Seneca, PF3, Navigraph

User avatar
jph
Posts: 1605
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:50 pm
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow..

Re: FS2020 Fenix?

#9 Post by jph »

I don't think that for one single minute the 'no home cockpit' will ever or COULD ever be enforced.
It seems to be the same situation as when LM bought certain rights to the ACES FSX IP and P3D was started. The licensing deal with MS meant that it was not supposed to be used in an 'FSX' type game as MS had also sold the same bloody code to the other bunch for the 'sim/game market haha. It was then a free for all of course but you had to say you were a 'student' or some other meaningless 'tick the box'. Win Win.. LM got all the beta testers they needed for their commercial weapons platform simulator and got the beta testers to PAY them for the dubious privilege of testing it.. :? :lol:

This (PROSIM 'lite') is Great for the users though ;) . It would be interesting to see how closely it matches the REAL pro-sim logic and systems modelling.
I also don't think that PROSIM AR is going to lose any customers though as their customers have specific support needs and tend to use the proprietary hardware it interfaces with.
“Everything in moderation, including moderation.”
“Experience is merely the name men gave to their mistakes.”
Joe (CISSP) -IT security consultant

frumpy
Posts: 250
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 12:01 pm

Re: FS2020 Fenix?

#10 Post by frumpy »

Is anyone working on converting existing instruments to Fenix? Perhaps it's prudent to split the work so many people work on different instruments.
Well... after the summer! 8-)

Post Reply