Error loading instrument script: size_t size mismatch

Support for Air Player desktop.

Moderators: russ, Ralph

Post Reply
Message
Author
Tetrachromat
Posts: 236
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2021 6:55 pm

Error loading instrument script: size_t size mismatch

#1 Post by Tetrachromat »

I have some precompiled lua script in the panel lib folder that I use for panel scripting. I used luac53 for precompiling the script.

In Air Manager 4.1 BETA 23 (and all previous BETAs) the panel loads without problems and works as expected.

When I push the panel to Air Player 4.1 BETA 23 I get the following error in the log file:

Code: Select all

Error loading instrument script: lib/gci-lite.lua: size_t size mismatch in precompiled chunk
gci-lite.lua is the precompiled script

From some research I found that size_t mismatches can occur when
- using the wrong compiler version
- when the runtime uses the bit32 library which has been deprecated with lua 5.3

My questions are
- What compiler should I use to precompile such scripts?
- Are there any options I must set when precompiling?
- or is this just a bug in Air Player?

Anybody here with knowledge in this matter?

Paul

User avatar
Corjan
Posts: 2936
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 9:04 am

Re: Error loading instrument script: size_t size mismatch

#2 Post by Corjan »

Hi,


AP is 32 bit, and AM is 64 bit.
It is not recommended to precompile any lua scripts, since it will break platform compatibility.


Corjan

Tetrachromat
Posts: 236
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2021 6:55 pm

Re: Error loading instrument script: size_t size mismatch

#3 Post by Tetrachromat »

Ups, Just learned soemthing new. Thanks.

User avatar
Keith Baxter
Posts: 4674
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:00 am
Location: Botswana

Re: Error loading instrument script: size_t size mismatch

#4 Post by Keith Baxter »

Corjan wrote: Fri Nov 26, 2021 11:25 am Hi,


AP is 32 bit, and AM is 64 bit.
It is not recommended to precompile any lua scripts, since it will break platform compatibility.


Corjan
Hi

Will AP become 64 bit at some time ? And when is this envisaged if on the radar?

Keith
AMD RYZEN 9 5950X CPU, Corsair H80I cooler, ASUS TUF GAMING B550-PLUS AMD Ryzen Mother Board,  32Gb ram Corsair Vengeance 3000Mh, MSI GTX960 4G graphics card 

User avatar
jph
Posts: 2846
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:50 pm
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow..

Re: Error loading instrument script: size_t size mismatch

#5 Post by jph »

Keith Baxter wrote: Fri Nov 26, 2021 2:27 pm
Corjan wrote: Fri Nov 26, 2021 11:25 am Hi,


AP is 32 bit, and AM is 64 bit.
It is not recommended to precompile any lua scripts, since it will break platform compatibility.


Corjan
Hi

Will AP become 64 bit at some time ? And when is this envisaged if on the radar?

Keith
I don't really see any need for it to be 64 bit Keith. - just my thoughts of course.
Joe. CISSP, MSc.

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 7876
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: Error loading instrument script: size_t size mismatch

#6 Post by Ralph »

Like jph said, there's no advantage in making it 64 bit at this stage. It also allows to run instruments on a 32 bit OS as an 'alternative' to Air Manager.

Post Reply