Navigation API

Let Sim Innovations know about your Air Manager experience and let us know about your dream feature addition

Moderators: russ, Ralph

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 7867
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Navigation API

#1 Post by Ralph »

As many of you know, we're updating and expanding the navigation database. So it's also time to have a quick look at the API we have. Don't get over exited, we're not adding the flight planning part yet :)

Right now we have: https://siminnovations.com/wiki/index.p ... ation_data
- nav_get, which gets the navaid(s) matching your search criteria.
- nav_get_nearest, which gets the nearest navaid specified.
- nav_get_radius, which gives you the specified navaid within a set nautical miles radius.

One thing I was thinking of is to be able to specify/filter for the runway surface when looking for an airport with nav_get_nearest and nav_get_radius.

If you guys have any other suggestions than please let us know.

User avatar
Keith Baxter
Posts: 4671
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:00 am
Location: Botswana

Re: Navigation API

#2 Post by Keith Baxter »

@Ralph

I will put together a "list" of features that I currently use on my static data.

One that I did ask for is the runway length. We need to be able to search for airports by type, runway surface, runway length, heading etc.

Since we have found a way to draw vector maps, the map layers to plot all this data is important as well.



Keith
AMD RYZEN 9 5950X CPU, Corsair H80I cooler, ASUS TUF GAMING B550-PLUS AMD Ryzen Mother Board,  32Gb ram Corsair Vengeance 3000Mh, MSI GTX960 4G graphics card 

User avatar
Sling
Posts: 5237
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Navigation API

#3 Post by Sling »

That's a good start and most welcome. I used to calculate all this stuff manually beforehand. This will make it a whole lot quicker and easier. I think we will not know for sure what extra's may be needed until we start using these functions in a real application. Please brace yourself for some additional requests down the track.

The nav_get_nearest() and nav_get_radius() functions should have all the new properties of the nav_get(). Perhaps they do and the wiki pages haven't caught up yet.

As for the nav_get() function I think it would be good to be able to get number of runways, runway heading, runway length as Keith said and the lat/lon at the thresholds.

Basically you would need enough information to be able to differentiate the following. Most of them you have already but a bit more info on the airports will be needed to know what type of airport it is.
map_symbols.PNG

User avatar
Keith Baxter
Posts: 4671
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:00 am
Location: Botswana

Re: Navigation API

#4 Post by Keith Baxter »

+1 on what Tony Said
Keith
AMD RYZEN 9 5950X CPU, Corsair H80I cooler, ASUS TUF GAMING B550-PLUS AMD Ryzen Mother Board,  32Gb ram Corsair Vengeance 3000Mh, MSI GTX960 4G graphics card 

JackZ
Posts: 2262
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:02 pm

Re: Navigation API

#5 Post by JackZ »

What is important to know is the length of the longest runway of any airport. So in case of an emergency you can tell if you can land or not on it.

The VFR paper charts airports symbols usually vary depending on that fact.

Jacques
My YouTube Chanel on the A320 (Real SOPs by an Airline Pilot IRL):
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... 0Q6SBASRqJ

SimPassion
Posts: 5336
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 12:22 am

Re: Navigation API

#6 Post by SimPassion »


User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 7867
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: Navigation API

#7 Post by Ralph »

From what I can see now, with our current data set, there's no way of telling if an airport is military, serviced, unserviced, etc... That's something I will have to take up with Navigraph in the future. But they're a bit hard to work with, so it might take a while.
I'll see if I can get the longest runway and its direction.

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 7867
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: Navigation API

#8 Post by Ralph »

I've added runways to nav_get. Now on to the other calls and the map API.
https://siminnovations.com/wiki/index.p ... anager_4.x

User avatar
Keith Baxter
Posts: 4671
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:00 am
Location: Botswana

Re: Navigation API

#9 Post by Keith Baxter »

Ralph wrote: Thu Sep 10, 2020 12:47 pm From what I can see now, with our current data set, there's no way of telling if an airport is military, serviced, unserviced, etc... That's something I will have to take up with Navigraph in the future. But they're a bit hard to work with, so it might take a while.
I'll see if I can get the longest runway and its direction.
Hi Ralph,

They should have it. This is what the .geojson from them has included in their big airports.geojson. It should be quite simple to include quite a number of these options.

Code: Select all

				"file_id": 1,
				"ident": "FAOR",
				"name": "O.R. Tambo Intl",
				"city": null,
				"state": null,
				"country": "AFR",
				"region": "FA",
				"fuel_flags": 0,
				"has_avgas": 0,
				"has_jetfuel": 0,
				"has_tower_object": 0,
				"tower_frequency": 118100,
				"atis_frequency": 126200,
				"awos_frequency": null,
				"asos_frequency": null,
				"unicom_frequency": null,
				"is_closed": 0,
				"is_military": 0,
				"is_addon": 0,
				"num_boundary_fence": 0,
				"num_com": 10,
				"num_parking_gate": 0,
				"num_parking_ga_ramp": 0,
				"num_parking_cargo": 0,
				"num_parking_mil_cargo": 0,
				"num_parking_mil_combat": 0,
				"num_approach": 18,
				"num_runway_hard": 2,
				"num_runway_soft": 0,
				"num_runway_water": 0,
				"num_runway_light": 0,
				"num_runway_end_closed": 0,
				"num_runway_end_vasi": 0,
				"num_runway_end_als": 0,
				"num_runway_end_ils": 4,
				"num_apron": 0,
				"num_taxi_path": 0,
				"num_helipad": 0,
				"num_jetway": 0,
				"num_starts": 0,
				"longest_runway_length": 14505,
				"longest_runway_width": 197,
				"longest_runway_heading": 15.532999992370605,
				"longest_runway_surface": null,
				"num_runways": 2,
				"largest_parking_ramp": null,
				"largest_parking_gate": null,
				"rating": 1,
				"is_3d": 0,
				"scenery_local_path": null,
				"bgl_filename": null,
				"left_lonx": 28.234342575073242,
				"top_laty": -26.111906051635742,
				"right_lonx": 28.257278442382812,
				"bottom_laty": -26.164770126342773,
				"mag_var": -18.718067169189453,
				"tower_altitude": null,
				"tower_lonx": null,
				"tower_laty": null,
				"transition_altitude": 8000,
				"altitude": 5558,
				"lonx": 28.242317199707031,
				"laty": -26.133693695068359
			},

From a different dataset from them. The same airport.

Code: Select all

			{
				"ident": "FAOR",
				"name": "O.R. Tambo Intl",
				"has_avgas": 0,
				"has_jetfuel": 0,
				"tower_frequency": 118100,
				"is_closed": 0,
				"is_military": 0,
				"is_addon": 0,
				"is_3d": 0,
				"num_runway_hard": 2,
				"num_runway_soft": 0,
				"num_runway_water": 0,
				"num_helipad": 0,
				"longest_runway_length": 14505,
				"longest_runway_heading": 15.532999992370605,
				"rating": 1,
				"left_lonx": 28.234342575073242,
				"top_laty": -26.111906051635742,
				"right_lonx": 28.257278442382812,
				"bottom_laty": -26.164770126342773,
				"mag_var": -18.718067169189453,
				"lonx": 28.242317199707031,
				"laty": -26.133693695068359
			},
So Ralph I think you can get whatever you want included. They have the information.

Keith
AMD RYZEN 9 5950X CPU, Corsair H80I cooler, ASUS TUF GAMING B550-PLUS AMD Ryzen Mother Board,  32Gb ram Corsair Vengeance 3000Mh, MSI GTX960 4G graphics card 

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 7867
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: Navigation API

#10 Post by Ralph »

I'm not that keen on combining data sets. I might be able to get more information out of the Navigraph data set later on.

Post Reply