UNO led operation

Discuss suspected bugs with other users and Sim Innovations Staff

Moderators: Ralph, russ

Message
Author
User avatar
Sling
Posts: 4433
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:37 pm
Contact:

UNO led operation

#1 Post by Sling » Tue May 04, 2021 11:12 am

I'm having no luck trying to use hw_led_add() and an UNO in AM 4.0.

The Uno has been flashed with AM 4.0. I've tried D6, D9 & D13. All 3 work perfectly when using hw_output_add()

This does not turn on the LED. The set function also does nothing.

Code: Select all

led = hw_led_add("ARDUINO_UNO_A_D6", 1.0)
I haven't played with AM hardware in a while so perhaps i'm missing something.

Can someone please confirm this is working with an UNO flashed with AM 4.0.

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
Keith Baxter
Posts: 2807
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:00 am
Location: Botswana

Re: UNO led operation

#2 Post by Keith Baxter » Tue May 04, 2021 12:45 pm

Tony,

Sorry bud, I do not have a uno else i would have tested.

Keith
AMD RYZEN 9 5950X CPU, Corsair H80I cooler, ASUS TUF GAMING B550-PLUS AMD Ryzen Mother Board,  32Gb ram Corsair Vengeance 3000Mh, MSI GTX960 4G graphics card 

User avatar
Corjan
Posts: 2369
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 9:04 am

Re: UNO led operation

#3 Post by Corjan » Tue May 04, 2021 12:55 pm

Hi,

This is an issue with the Uno running out of memory.
There is an AM BETA available now that has a uno image that does work.

Corjan

User avatar
Keith Baxter
Posts: 2807
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:00 am
Location: Botswana

Re: UNO led operation

#4 Post by Keith Baxter » Tue May 04, 2021 1:30 pm

@Corjan

We understand that there are some bugs and that is expected with any new release. Obviously time to push a hot fix is needed.

From the community side, should we advise those having issues to revert to the beta? I am talking from a testing and assurance point of view so that the hot fix is on song when pushed.

For those reading this. I am 100% sure all bugs will be resolved. The Si guys never let you down.

Keith
AMD RYZEN 9 5950X CPU, Corsair H80I cooler, ASUS TUF GAMING B550-PLUS AMD Ryzen Mother Board,  32Gb ram Corsair Vengeance 3000Mh, MSI GTX960 4G graphics card 

User avatar
Corjan
Posts: 2369
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 9:04 am

Re: UNO led operation

#5 Post by Corjan » Tue May 04, 2021 1:55 pm

Hi,


When it is a critical issue, I agree, a hotfix is needed.

In this case, there are only a limited number of people that use hardware, and even less that use the Uno.

We are trying to fix multiple things at once, and only have to deploy once.
Note that with all the platforms, creating all the binaries takes quite some time.


Corjan

User avatar
Sling
Posts: 4433
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:37 pm
Contact:

Re: UNO led operation

#6 Post by Sling » Tue May 04, 2021 8:45 pm

Thanks. I’ll give it a try.

User avatar
jph
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:50 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: UNO led operation

#7 Post by jph » Wed May 05, 2021 8:32 am

Hi guys, I didn't have time yesterday to test as I was out in the afternoon, so set up an uno and led this morning, then checked the replies - doh :D
Nice find Tony, and also to Corjan, fully understood, the UNO is pretty limited. But please, ig possible do keep it in even with a stripped down and function limited image on it if you can. They are great for running some of the shields with - quad stepper drivers / motor drivers etc, and the ones of us that do use / experiment with hardware probably have a load in the 'round tuit' bin ;) :) . I also fully understand that over time boards will, by necessity become obsolete and need retiring. There is always message port of course so not real big deal at the end of the day. Thanks for the beta also.
Joe
“Everything in moderation, including moderation.”
“Experience is merely the name men gave to their mistakes.”
Joe (CISSP) -IT security consultant

User avatar
jph
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:50 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: UNO led operation

#8 Post by jph » Wed May 05, 2021 8:42 am

Corjan wrote:
Tue May 04, 2021 12:55 pm
Hi,

This is an issue with the Uno running out of memory.
There is an AM BETA available now that has a uno image that does work.

Corjan
@Corjan

HI Corjan and chaps,
Sorry if I am having a 'blonde' moment - :shock: :mrgreen:
But I cannot seem to locate the beta ?
the beta link for AM 4 Desktop takes me to
https://siminnovations.com/wiki/index.p ... sktop_BETA
Again, apologies, it is probably me I have only had two cups of tea and need 3 to wake up . :P
Joe
“Everything in moderation, including moderation.”
“Experience is merely the name men gave to their mistakes.”
Joe (CISSP) -IT security consultant

User avatar
Sling
Posts: 4433
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:37 pm
Contact:

Re: UNO led operation

#9 Post by Sling » Wed May 05, 2021 9:06 am

There is no new BETA for download because it’s officially stopped for now until the 4.1 BETA starts I guess. To get this fix you need to run the last BETA and it should prompt you to update.

I haven’t had a chance to re-try yet but will do shortly.

User avatar
jph
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:50 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: UNO led operation

#10 Post by jph » Wed May 05, 2021 9:37 am

Sling wrote:
Wed May 05, 2021 9:06 am
There is no new BETA for download because it’s officially stopped for now until the 4.1 BETA starts I guess. To get this fix you need to run the last BETA and it should prompt you to update.

I haven’t had a chance to re-try yet but will do shortly.
Hi Tony, let me know how you go on with getting the appropriate beta please. I 'think' I have the previous beta on one of the drives ??? will have to poke around. If you solve, please can you give me version numbers etc ?
Would be good to try, especially as I dug out an uno and leds this morning haha. :D 8-)
Joe
“Everything in moderation, including moderation.”
“Experience is merely the name men gave to their mistakes.”
Joe (CISSP) -IT security consultant

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests