DIY knobster issue

Discuss suspected bugs with other users and Sim Innovations Staff

Moderators: Ralph, russ

Message
Author
Pkaser
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 7:15 pm

DIY knobster issue

#1 Post by Pkaser » Fri Apr 30, 2021 3:03 am

My DIY Knobster encoders are skipping every other number on the com and nav radios. Like 119, 121, 123, etc. Anyone else verify this? It was working earlier today before the upgrade to 4.0 from 3.7.

Thanks,
Patrick

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 5102
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: DIY knobster issue

#2 Post by Ralph » Fri Apr 30, 2021 4:26 am

Check if your detent setting is correct and make sure that you're using the latest plugin.

Pkaser
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 7:15 pm

Re: DIY knobster issue

#3 Post by Pkaser » Sun May 02, 2021 8:08 pm

Tried all 3 pulse settings and it still skips.

I tried to reflash the Knobster again and it timed out 10 times with "not in sync: resp=0xb4"

Pkaser
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 7:15 pm

Re: DIY knobster issue

#4 Post by Pkaser » Sun May 02, 2021 8:33 pm

I got it to reflash, but I had to use "old bootloader" and I am also running the latest plugin.

It still skips every other number. If I have it set to one pulse, I have to move the knob two indents and it will skip 1 number (121->123>125), two pulses it skips a number every knob detent, and 4 skips numbers (121>125>etc) but you can see it stop for a few milliseconds on the middle number.

User avatar
Sling
Posts: 4441
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:37 pm
Contact:

Re: DIY knobster issue

#5 Post by Sling » Mon May 03, 2021 12:03 am

What version plugin are you running? You said latest but is it really?

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 5102
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: DIY knobster issue

#6 Post by Ralph » Mon May 03, 2021 9:05 am

Indeed an old plugin or wrong detent setting, those are the only two possible options.

Pkaser
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 7:15 pm

Re: DIY knobster issue

#7 Post by Pkaser » Tue May 04, 2021 5:31 am

Yeah, I really am. I downloaded it from your site, installed it, and it says that it installed. Beyond that, how would I determine if the installer actually installed it?

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 5102
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: DIY knobster issue

#8 Post by Ralph » Tue May 04, 2021 7:05 am

You can, but note that I also mentioned the detent setting. And make sure that it is flashed with the latest firmware, although that's not the problem in this case.

Pkaser
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 7:15 pm

Re: DIY knobster issue

#9 Post by Pkaser » Tue May 04, 2021 10:21 pm

I manually removed the Air Plugin from the resources/plugins folder.

I reinstalled the Air Plugin which placed the new files in the resources/plugins.

I verified that the pulses per detent are set to 2.

I relaunched X-Plane, and same result: skips every other one.

I disabled the "Use Simulator GPS Commands" in the RealityXP Settings and the issue is resolved.

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 5102
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: DIY knobster issue

#10 Post by Ralph » Wed May 05, 2021 3:46 am

But who says that 2 is the number you need?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests