AM 4.0.2 sound_loop bug

Discuss suspected bugs with other users and Sim Innovations Staff

Moderators: Ralph, russ

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Sling
Posts: 4513
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:37 pm
Contact:

AM 4.0.2 sound_loop bug

#1 Post by Sling » Fri Jun 18, 2021 11:45 pm

HI,

Just come across an issue when using sound_loop(). It causes CTD for me. Anyone else confirm this?

User avatar
Corjan
Posts: 2426
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 9:04 am

Re: AM 4.0.2 sound_loop bug

#2 Post by Corjan » Sat Jun 19, 2021 12:06 pm

Hi,


Seems to work fine here.

But on the subject, with AM 4.1 the whole sound system has been reworked, so my guess is that it will be resolved.

I expect to push another BETA in about a month from now. Would you mind testing it then on your system?


Corjan

User avatar
jph
Posts: 763
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:50 pm
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow..

Re: AM 4.0.2 sound_loop bug

#3 Post by jph » Sun Jun 20, 2021 8:37 am

Sling wrote:
Fri Jun 18, 2021 11:45 pm
HI,

Just come across an issue when using sound_loop(). It causes CTD for me. Anyone else confirm this?
Hi,
If you post a sample code that causes the CTD then I am happy to test for you on my system.
“Everything in moderation, including moderation.”
“Experience is merely the name men gave to their mistakes.”
Joe (CISSP) -IT security consultant

User avatar
Sling
Posts: 4513
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:37 pm
Contact:

Re: AM 4.0.2 sound_loop bug

#4 Post by Sling » Sun Jun 20, 2021 11:47 am

Not much code just this.

sound_id = sound_add(“sound.wav”)

sound_loop(sound_id)

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 5164
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: AM 4.0.2 sound_loop bug

#5 Post by Ralph » Sun Jun 20, 2021 12:13 pm

Crashes here as well. We'll try it with the upcoming beta to see if it still happens.

Pkaser
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 7:15 pm

Re: AM 4.0.2 sound_loop bug

#6 Post by Pkaser » Sun Jun 20, 2021 1:36 pm

Fwiw, I am also seeing new CTD's, but havent pinned it to sound. It did just start with the AM update I did last week and Ive spent no time investigating it yet.

User avatar
jph
Posts: 763
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:50 pm
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow..

Re: AM 4.0.2 sound_loop bug

#7 Post by jph » Mon Jun 21, 2021 8:02 am

Sling wrote:
Sun Jun 20, 2021 11:47 am
Not much code just this.

sound_id = sound_add(“sound.wav”)

sound_loop(sound_id)
No worries, from the other posts the answer seems to be clear. ;)
“Everything in moderation, including moderation.”
“Experience is merely the name men gave to their mistakes.”
Joe (CISSP) -IT security consultant

User avatar
Sling
Posts: 4513
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:37 pm
Contact:

Re: AM 4.0.2 sound_loop bug

#8 Post by Sling » Wed Jun 30, 2021 11:32 am

4.1 Beta 1 has now fixed the loop issue. I can also confirm mp3's are working. However the stereo still needs work. It is in stereo but the left channel level is greater than the right by a noticeable amount.

Tony

User avatar
Corjan
Posts: 2426
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 9:04 am

Re: AM 4.0.2 sound_loop bug

#9 Post by Corjan » Wed Jun 30, 2021 1:04 pm

Hi,


Managed to find the issue... For whatever reason (I doubt it is a good one), the openJDK JRE changes the balance of the whole application.
Just tried running it on the Oracle JRE, and things are normal again.

I'm planning to update the JRE down the road, hopefully a newer version of openJDK doesn't change the balance,


Corjan

User avatar
Corjan
Posts: 2426
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 9:04 am

Re: AM 4.0.2 sound_loop bug

#10 Post by Corjan » Wed Jun 30, 2021 2:07 pm

Hi,

This might be the moment to upgrade java versions.
Will try moving from java 8 -> java 16 in the coming days.

Corjan

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests