Using GNS 430 overlay in Cessna 172SP panel

Peer support for Air Manager desktop users

Moderators: russ, Ralph

dominikos

Using GNS 430 overlay in Cessna 172SP panel

#1 Post by dominikos »

I'm new to Air Manager and got the paid Cessna 172SP panel. For my flying, I need GNS430. I swapped the Nav1/Com1 with GNS 430 and run into issue with transparency. If I keep transparency, the xplane GNS window does not show up. If I turn off transparency, the background image disapears and panel does not look good.
What am I missing? Is there a way to design panel that has partial background image and transparent radio stack? I don't think it's uncommon request but I don't know how to find it/set it up.

Overall great product!

Thanks

Sling

Re: Using GNS 430 overlay in Cessna 172SP panel

#2 Post by Sling »

Hi,

Yes this is a very common use case so it’s just a case of setting it up correctly. I’m not at my PC right now so I can’t show you the settings. I do have a video on my youtube channel linked below that shows how to setup a panel with pop out windows from the sim. It mainly shows a G1000 but the principal is the same.

dominikos

#3 Post by dominikos »

Thank you, I looked at your video. The difference between your setup and Cessna 172SP panel is that it does have black background where the radio stack is placed - as a result, using its background prevents GNS overlay from working. I will see if I can raise it as a bug.

Ralph

#4 Post by Ralph »

I suppose you're using the premium panel? Why not use the premade GNS outlay?

dominikos

#5 Post by dominikos »

Yes, I’m using a premium panel and I swapped Nav1/Com1 with GNS overlay. I might be missing something but unless I set this panel to transparent, the desktop background does not show up. I usually use black background but your video made a good point that using colored background allows easily to see what’s transparent and what is not.