3.7 and 4.0 on the same platform?

Peer support for Air Manager desktop users

Moderators: Ralph, russ

Post Reply
Message
Author
Mike Horsten
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2020 8:50 am

3.7 and 4.0 on the same platform?

#1 Post by Mike Horsten » Mon Apr 26, 2021 12:53 pm

Can you run both 3.7 and 4.0 on the same machine or network ? if so what directories do i need to change as i presume you can do both.

reason is not all the things i have done have been moved for 4.0, yes in know 4.0 is backward compatible but i would like to use 3.7 on my development machine.

Mike
Building a home Cessna 172SP Steam. X-plane/MFS2020
(ex Name on Airmanager forum Polarair)

User avatar
Corjan
Posts: 2368
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 9:04 am

Re: 3.7 and 4.0 on the same platform?

#2 Post by Corjan » Mon Apr 26, 2021 12:56 pm

Hi,


That is not possible, sorry.


Corjan

User avatar
Keith Baxter
Posts: 2801
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:00 am
Location: Botswana

Re: 3.7 and 4.0 on the same platform?

#3 Post by Keith Baxter » Mon Apr 26, 2021 1:54 pm

Hi,

This does not make me upset but sure does not put a happy smile on my face.

So how to hack a solution????
----------
If I do a backup to a cloud a AM3.7 version and another backup to a cloud of AM4.x version .....
Would that require licence reset after each restore?
----------

I can understand that Discounting AM4 for users that previously had AM3.7 is an upgrade and not another licence.

Can I have AM3.7 on one licence and AM4 on another licence if I bought the AM4 under a different email? I understand I would not get the discount.

As an example....
I have xplane 8, xplane 9, xplane 10 & xplane 11 all on the same machine. Each has it's separate licence key.
Same with lightroom.3 & lightroom.4

Keith
Last edited by Keith Baxter on Mon Apr 26, 2021 2:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
AMD RYZEN 9 5950X CPU, Corsair H80I cooler, ASUS TUF GAMING B550-PLUS AMD Ryzen Mother Board,  32Gb ram Corsair Vengeance 3000Mh, MSI GTX960 4G graphics card 

Mike Horsten
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2020 8:50 am

Re: 3.7 and 4.0 on the same platform?

#4 Post by Mike Horsten » Mon Apr 26, 2021 2:00 pm

Ok i understand, i don't want to hack it either and dont want to upset anybody Can i move the3.7 to a different machine for development. no flying?

Mike
Building a home Cessna 172SP Steam. X-plane/MFS2020
(ex Name on Airmanager forum Polarair)

User avatar
Keith Baxter
Posts: 2801
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:00 am
Location: Botswana

Re: 3.7 and 4.0 on the same platform?

#5 Post by Keith Baxter » Mon Apr 26, 2021 3:45 pm

@Corjan

I suspect some of this will find its way to FAQ

I have a bunch of Q's hitting me from various avenues and I do not know the answer to. Assistance from the SI guys please.

1) If i upgrade to AM4 and do not like it and my instruments do not work. Can I revert back to my previous version, AM3.4, if I did a backup of AM3.4? Or is the upgrade/purchase of AM4 terminal?

2) If I purchase AM4 under a discount code sent to me in the mail, Is that considered a upgrade or a do I get a different licence.

3) If I purchase AM4 without a discount code, is AM4 a separate licence to my AM3.x.

4) Can I run my AM3.x and AM4 on the same machine if they have different licences.

5) Can I ask for an extension to the discount offer.

6) If I have AM3.x on one machine and AM4.x on another machine. Can I swap when my AM4 panel development is done and vise versa.

7) Is AM3.x still supported? or has support ended? If Not when will support end.

8) If i purchase AM4 will my 5 RPi licences still work or will I have to upgrade those as well.

9) If I upgrade to AM4, Do I need to upgrade anything for my hardware to continue working.


Keith
AMD RYZEN 9 5950X CPU, Corsair H80I cooler, ASUS TUF GAMING B550-PLUS AMD Ryzen Mother Board,  32Gb ram Corsair Vengeance 3000Mh, MSI GTX960 4G graphics card 

User avatar
Keith Baxter
Posts: 2801
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:00 am
Location: Botswana

Re: 3.7 and 4.0 on the same platform?

#6 Post by Keith Baxter » Mon Apr 26, 2021 5:48 pm

Hi

A new one to hit me...so No10

10) If I do not like AM4, is there a refund policy? and what is the process to go through.

Keith
AMD RYZEN 9 5950X CPU, Corsair H80I cooler, ASUS TUF GAMING B550-PLUS AMD Ryzen Mother Board,  32Gb ram Corsair Vengeance 3000Mh, MSI GTX960 4G graphics card 

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests