Garmin G5

Peer support for Air Manager desktop users

Moderators: Ralph, russ

Post Reply
Message
Author
Kylemon
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 2:19 pm

Garmin G5

#1 Post by Kylemon » Tue Apr 20, 2021 5:13 pm

I purchased the garmin G5 and use it in the A2A cessna 172 in FSX:SE - it works brilliantly.
I am a real world instrument student. I fly a Cessna 172 with a single G5 attitude indicator. In the real world plane the G5 displays ground track instead of heading - very useful on an instrument approach.
I notice the G5 in air manager is displaying heading - ground track is represented by a magenta line in the heading tape.
Is there a way to switch the digital display to display ground track as is the case in my real world aircraft? I assume it would take re-assigning a variable from "heading" to "ground track" in the programming of the gauge?

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 5066
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: Garmin G5

#2 Post by Ralph » Tue Apr 20, 2021 7:04 pm

No, it's a closed source script.

uptimist
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2020 3:57 pm

Re: Garmin G5

#3 Post by uptimist » Wed Apr 21, 2021 2:13 pm

The real world G5 does actually show heading if connected to a magnetometer (as in many aircraft). The magenta diamond then shows track. This is immensely helpful e.g. in holding where you can see drift in an instant. So this implementation is accurate for many real world installations, although obviously not configurable to match yours...

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 5066
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: Garmin G5

#4 Post by Ralph » Wed Apr 21, 2021 5:02 pm

As I've mentioned here on the forums a couple of times, it is not our goal to build a 1:1 copy/trainer of the G5. There will always be differences with the real unit.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests