Airmanager and Mega

Peer support for Air Manager desktop users

Moderators: russ, Ralph

Post Reply
Message
Author
JohnF
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2021 10:51 am

Airmanager and Mega

#1 Post by JohnF »

I am trying to add a graphic display, and need some information.
How to I output byte to a port on Arduino mega?
Where can I get a list of arithmetic functions or a language data.

I need to send initialization data and text info.

:?:

User avatar
Corjan
Posts: 2936
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 9:04 am

Re: Airmanager and Mega

#2 Post by Corjan »

Hi,


I would recommend starting with this video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nBtCsm4FIjg

Basically, you can prepare your Arduino in Air Manager, and do further programming in Air Manager.

In that case, this page has more detail on what character displays are supported:
https://siminnovations.com/wiki/index.p ... isplay_add


Another option is to use our Arduino library. It allows to communicate between Air Manager on your own Arduino sketch.
That opens up the ability to use and Arduino library, and do your own thing basically.


Corjan

JohnF
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2021 10:51 am

Re: Airmanager and Mega

#3 Post by JohnF »

A misunderstanding, I am not using a character display but a graphics display. I need to be able to use my own code for this to work, either put my code into Arduino mega or write code into Air manager to control display. There is no data on how to interface to Air manager from user code. Can you supply details on how to communicate with air manager from Arduino? what code does air manager put onto Arduino? and can I patch into this or write the interface myself?

lonespace
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 1:58 am

Re: Airmanager and Mega

#4 Post by lonespace »

You’re probably looking for the Message Port API

https://siminnovations.com/wiki/index.p ... ssage_port

User avatar
Sling
Posts: 5237
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Airmanager and Mega

#5 Post by Sling »

Message port is definitely the way to go.

JohnF
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2021 10:51 am

Re: Airmanager and Mega

#6 Post by JohnF »

OK so I can send data to a mega port with message port function. How about running my own code within air manager on Arduino?? what is the syntax for code within functions on Arduino with flight manager installed. Can I just create functions and all will run??

User avatar
Sling
Posts: 5237
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Airmanager and Mega

#7 Post by Sling »

I think you need to have more of a detailed read about message port. Most of these questions are answered on the wiki.

https://siminnovations.com/wiki/index. ... le=Arduino

Post Reply