Testing AM3.0 Beta

Latest Information on Sim Innovation's flagship product Air Manager

Moderators: russ, Ralph

Message
Author
jedeen
Posts: 527
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 5:41 pm

Testing AM3.0 Beta

#1 Post by jedeen »

Hai all
Currently I am in the making of a new instrument.
I use AM 2.1.3 and AM 3.0 Beta, side by side just to compare and to help me to decide in what version I should go on.
So, the code beneath works in AM2 and in AM3 in conjunction with X-Plane11
I am developing an instrument for the B737-800X

Code: Select all

img_add("background.png",0,0,900,900)
img_wpt1 = img_add("wpt_white.png",430,710,40,40) --visible(img_wpt1,false)

function new_x_position(new_x, new_y)
 wpt1x = 410+(new_x[1]*100)
 wpt1y = 750-(new_y[1]*100)
 
 --visible(img_wpt1,true)
 move(img_wpt1,wpt1x,wpt1y,nil,nil)
 
 end

xpl_dataref_subscribe("laminar/B738/nd/wpt_x", "FLOAT[10]",
					  "laminar/B738/nd/wpt_y", "FLOAT[10]", new_x_position)
I assume that everyone can make a black background, so I attached only the waypoint png.
I observed the following:
In AM2 everything is normal.......no problems.
In AM3 I see random glitches, it seems that every few seconds the program "restarts ???"
I can see then the waypoint as constructed in this line "img_wpt1 = img_add("wpt_white.png",430,710,40,40)" appearing.

Maybe I am doing something wrong but then why is this not happening in AM2 ??
Regards
Jedeen
Attachments
wpt_white.png
wpt_white.png (3.59 KiB) Viewed 3230 times

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 7878
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: Testing AM3.0 Beta

#2 Post by Ralph »

How do I get a waypoint in there? The FMS only says 'Key not active' and 'Invalid entry', it won't let me type in anything.

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 7878
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: Testing AM3.0 Beta

#3 Post by Ralph »

Oh now it does after clicking it like crazy :) A bit buggy it seems.

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 7878
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: Testing AM3.0 Beta

#4 Post by Ralph »

Are you sure those are the correct datarefs? I don't see them with the dataref viewer, and I have typed in a route.

jedeen
Posts: 527
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 5:41 pm

Re: Testing AM3.0 Beta

#5 Post by jedeen »

Hey Ralph,

I guess you are using the default 737.
That plane doesn't have a functional FMC.
You have to install the 737-800X from Zibo, to be downloaded here:
http://forums.x-plane.org/index.php?/fo ... modified/&
Look for the link to the googledrive of Zibo
Install it as prescribed in the first page, to be short:
  • 1 download the whole plane (B737-800X), date 8 Jul 2017
    2 install it in X-Plane 11/Aircraft
    3 later you can use those litle zip files, those are the updats
If you want the new sound file that's too in the google drive of Zibo
Happy flying
Jedeen

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 7878
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: Testing AM3.0 Beta

#6 Post by Ralph »

First of all I get a grey cockpit with all kinds of weird gauges. The dataref is there but it's zero and I can't utilize the FMS.
The download and installation description on that page is far from clear.

jedeen
Posts: 527
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 5:41 pm

Re: Testing AM3.0 Beta

#7 Post by jedeen »

You are right about the explanations.
The mistake you have probably made,....you downloaded the small zip file of 17MB
You should download the big one with the date of 8 juli 2017
See screenshot
Attachments
ZiboDrive.jpg

jedeen
Posts: 527
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 5:41 pm

Re: Testing AM3.0 Beta

#8 Post by jedeen »

And your directory should look like this:
Attachments
Directory.jpg

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 7878
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: Testing AM3.0 Beta

#9 Post by Ralph »

Ah, now I get it. I'll try it tomorrow.

JackZ
Posts: 2262
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:02 pm

Re: Testing AM3.0 Beta

#10 Post by JackZ »

I tested the new beta 36 and noticed the new DA 20 panels for sale.
Neat idea, though a little bit pricey IMHO (10 000€) :D

Jacques
My YouTube Chanel on the A320 (Real SOPs by an Airline Pilot IRL):
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... 0Q6SBASRqJ

Post Reply