How / where to connect "Named Hardware"

Air Player Mini is a small version of Air Player running on the ESP32.

Moderators: Ralph, russ

Post Reply
Message
Author
termigrator
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2020 5:48 pm

How / where to connect "Named Hardware"

#1 Post by termigrator » Sun Mar 07, 2021 11:56 am

Hi,

i flashed a ESP32 Device and thereafter i see the Airplayer-Hardware in the Home-Tab. But I can't find a dialog-box where to configure the "Named Hardware". Pushing the instrument to the Air Player does not trigger a dialog too.

My Codesample:

Code: Select all

 local parkbrake_dref     = "1-sim/parckBrake" 
 
 function brake_hw_callback(position)
  print(position)
  if position == 1 then
    xpl_dataref_write(parkbrake_dref, "INT", 1)
  else
    xpl_dataref_write(parkbrake_dref, "INT", 0)
  end
end


 hw_switch_id = hw_switch_add("PARKINGBRAKE", 1, brake_hw_callback)
The Airplayer shurely is not able to guess, to which gpio-pi i connected the parkingbrake swith. But: how do i configure the gpio-pin?

Best regards

Robert Krüger

User avatar
jph
Posts: 661
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:50 pm
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow..

Re: How / where to connect "Named Hardware"

#2 Post by jph » Sun Mar 07, 2021 12:15 pm

termigrator wrote:
Sun Mar 07, 2021 11:56 am
Hi,

i flashed a ESP32 Device and thereafter i see the Airplayer-Hardware in the Home-Tab. But I can't find a dialog-box where to configure the "Named Hardware". Pushing the instrument to the Air Player does not trigger a dialog too.

My Codesample:

Code: Select all

 local parkbrake_dref     = "1-sim/parckBrake" 
 
 function brake_hw_callback(position)
  print(position)
  if position == 1 then
    xpl_dataref_write(parkbrake_dref, "INT", 1)
  else
    xpl_dataref_write(parkbrake_dref, "INT", 0)
  end
end


 hw_switch_id = hw_switch_add("PARKINGBRAKE", 1, brake_hw_callback)
The Airplayer shurely is not able to guess, to which gpio-pi i connected the parkingbrake swith. But: how do i configure the gpio-pin?

Best regards

Robert Krüger
Hi Robert,
I am unsure exactly what you mean, but, please check the spelling of the code in the line -

Code: Select all

 local parkbrake_dref     = "1-sim/parckBrake"
The second parkbrake appears to have an additional 'c' as you have written 'parCkbrake' as opposed to parkbrake ?

Joe
“Everything in moderation, including moderation.”
“Experience is merely the name men gave to their mistakes.”
Joe (CISSP) -IT security consultant

termigrator
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2020 5:48 pm

Re: How / where to connect "Named Hardware"

#3 Post by termigrator » Sun Mar 07, 2021 4:50 pm

Hi Joe,

this typo is on the sim-side (Flightfactor Airbus a350), not on my code-side. This dataref is working with an Arduino-Nano without problems.

In Addition: it was a little tricky and cost me half an hour to find this dataref in the sim, because of that typo!

Best Regards

Robert Krüger

termigrator
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2020 5:48 pm

Re: How / where to connect "Named Hardware"

#4 Post by termigrator » Sun Mar 07, 2021 5:22 pm

Hi everyone,

I have now found the solution myself: there is no solution.

I found a note in the wiki-documentation that only the hardware interface (which is no longer recommended) can be used with the ESP32 chip.

This is a little pity, because there is a lot of potential in an ESP32-based solution.

Best regards

Robert Krüger

User avatar
Sling
Posts: 4440
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:37 pm
Contact:

Re: How / where to connect "Named Hardware"

#5 Post by Sling » Mon Mar 08, 2021 2:39 am

It’s simple just don’t use named hardware. If it’s just for yourself then fixing the hardware id’s in code is better anyway IMHO.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest