Pushbutton not working

Support for the SimWareKits Knobster in combination with Air Manager and Air Player

Moderators: Ralph, russ

Post Reply
Message
Author
Luca Piergentili
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2020 7:11 pm

Pushbutton not working

#1 Post by Luca Piergentili » Tue Feb 09, 2021 1:04 pm

Hello guys,
I finally built my own knobster using an Arduino Nano (official) and an ELMA encoder.
It all works great except the pushbutton.
I made a couple of tests using a breadboard and it looks like the circuit is ALWAYS CLOSED: if I unplug the COMM wire it senses the push, if I plug it back (to make the other ones working) it doesn't work anymore.
I also tested the knobster using a ClampMeter and it all works... (If I push the circuit is closed, when I release the circuit opens... which is the way it should be).

In my opinion, it looks like it is doing the opposite as it should be... Is the same as if it would be ALWAYS PUSHED and never released....

Anyone who can help me?

ps. As it is an ELMA encoder, it comes with only one COMM, I plugged it to the GND close to D2 as a lot of people did.

Hope I've been clear enough ahaha. Have a good day :D

User avatar
Sling
Posts: 4423
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Pushbutton not working

#2 Post by Sling » Tue Feb 09, 2021 2:27 pm

If you only have it connected via breadboard then perhaps your wiring is incorrect for the switch. Are you certain the wiring is good? Also did you flash the Nano from the version of AM you are testing with?

User avatar
jph
Posts: 641
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:50 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Pushbutton not working

#3 Post by jph » Wed Feb 10, 2021 3:08 pm

Luca Piergentili wrote:
Tue Feb 09, 2021 1:04 pm
Hello guys,
I finally built my own knobster using an Arduino Nano (official) and an ELMA encoder.
It all works great except the pushbutton.
I made a couple of tests using a breadboard and it looks like the circuit is ALWAYS CLOSED: if I unplug the COMM wire it senses the push, if I plug it back (to make the other ones working) it doesn't work anymore.
I also tested the knobster using a ClampMeter and it all works... (If I push the circuit is closed, when I release the circuit opens... which is the way it should be).

In my opinion, it looks like it is doing the opposite as it should be... Is the same as if it would be ALWAYS PUSHED and never released....

Anyone who can help me?

ps. As it is an ELMA encoder, it comes with only one COMM, I plugged it to the GND close to D2 as a lot of people did.

Hope I've been clear enough ahaha. Have a good day :D
Hi, ensure you are using a pullup resistor (around 10k, not critical) on the switch side that dosen't go to comm.. That should sort your issue. ie - the switch is normally pulled up to 5v via the pullup resistor, pressing the button grounds it. should be 'job sorted'
“Everything in moderation, including moderation.”
“Experience is merely the name men gave to their mistakes.”
Joe (CISSP) -IT security consultant

User avatar
jph
Posts: 641
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:50 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Pushbutton not working

#4 Post by jph » Thu Feb 11, 2021 8:10 am

Just out of interest,
If you are using an Elma encoder, and you have a single common then the unit must be on a PCB, I presume you are using a Bodner unit with PCB ? - can you confirm this or otherwise which PCB are you using ?.
Joe
“Everything in moderation, including moderation.”
“Experience is merely the name men gave to their mistakes.”
Joe (CISSP) -IT security consultant

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests