Recommended devices

Help with Air Manager Android version

Moderators: Ralph, russ

Message
Author
dustine79
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2021 11:25 am

Re: Recommended devices

#21 Post by dustine79 » Mon Sep 27, 2021 11:30 am

jph wrote:
Mon Oct 05, 2020 11:56 am
Nice choice on the tablets ;)

Just need to get rid of the '3d cockpit' now (easy in X-Plane as you can just edit the airfile in planemaker - remove all the crap and then use trackir etc....) - imho much better when you have a fixed cockpit. - FS2020 ? - again, I know Jack about it - never tried it probably never will for the next 5 years lol :D -but personally I hate flying with an 'external' cockpit and a '3d' sim cockpit view overlay.. it ruins the ambience.

VERY nice job though -really neat.
As the device version has been upgraded time by time, I think the Air Manager version has also been updated.
So which Android version does Air Manager need to run on Android at the moment?

User avatar
jph
Posts: 900
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:50 pm
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow..

Re: Recommended devices

#22 Post by jph » Mon Sep 27, 2021 12:10 pm

Air manager does not run on an android device, it is Air Player - I believe it is officially from V4.0 but the minimum would be 4.42 really due to the lack of autohide the nav bar on devices without off screen buttons.
Even then, probably as late a version as you can get is the best policy, although if 4.42 and up is available then great.

@Ralph - I am confused - (Nothing unusual there ;) :) ) but I find limited (none) info on the main SI site ?
On the playstore it is still listed as 'air manager' not 'air player'
It also says -
"Air Manager let’s you create custom flight simulator instrument panels on your Android tablet, and is compatible with the three most popular flight simulators."

Which afaik is blatantly incorrect // - am I missing something here apart from brain cells ?

Is it not 'air player' and certainly NOT capable of letting you "create custom flight simulator instrument panels on your Android tablet" - - in fact it doesn't allow the user to 'create' anything at all by itself. it can only use ready made and pre approved instruments from the store, unless something has changed dramatically ?. You cannot simply make an instrument and use it on your tablet. I understand the instrument needs to be submitted to SI for approval first. Even then, if a user wanted to 'create' ANY instrument for it he would also need Air Manager on the PC... and then go through the process of pre-approval and store publishing.

I think it definitely needs re-writing on the playstore.
“Everything in moderation, including moderation.”
“Experience is merely the name men gave to their mistakes.”
Joe (CISSP) -IT security consultant

Crunchmeister
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2021 2:06 pm

Re: Recommended devices

#23 Post by Crunchmeister » Mon Sep 27, 2021 5:55 pm

You can use pretty much any tablet with a utility like SpaceDesk and use your tablet as a wireless monitor for you main PC. You can then just directly open Air Manager panels from your main PC on that tablet as if it was another normal monitor.

Personally, I have 2 15.6" touch monitors hard wired to my setup. And I have 2 tablets using Spacedesk - an ancient Lenovo Tab 4 and a 5th gen iPad. Works like a charm.

User avatar
jph
Posts: 900
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:50 pm
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow..

Re: Recommended devices

#24 Post by jph » Wed Sep 29, 2021 11:45 am

In the case of android and spacedesk, the problem still applies with versions of android prior to KitKat. The issue is within KitKat itself.
The navigation bar will open as soon as the screen is touched - deliberately or accidently - and will not 'self hide' . Any version of Android prior to KitKat is not worth bothering with really - unless you have something that you are guaranteed not to touch or definitely does not need the touch function ;)

Out of interest, if you are running spacedesk I presume you are not running it on the main flightsim PC due to the terrible performance (unless they have fixed it in the last 18 months...?)
Mind you, I would always use a different PC for utilities anyway.
Are you still getting multi unit functionality with the latest beta ? - meaning multiple tablets from a single host ?
I know there are plans to drop this in the later non paid versions - if they are ever released........ :roll: as this has been moving to 'payware' since 2014. It is a great program within it's own limitations. I will have a look at the latest version and see what, if anything, has changed.
“Everything in moderation, including moderation.”
“Experience is merely the name men gave to their mistakes.”
Joe (CISSP) -IT security consultant

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest