Page 1 of 1

Airmanager and LCD1602

Posted: Mon Jul 19, 2021 3:56 pm
by Fermin
Is airmanager compatible with arduino, and a 1602 display?
Sounds to me like I’ve seen somewhere that was.
I want to do an autopilot with this display.

Re: Airmanager and LCD1602

Posted: Mon Jul 19, 2021 4:14 pm
by Fermin
I answer to myself. I have seen that there are a couple of threads with the name of HD44780.

Re: Airmanager and LCD1602

Posted: Tue Jul 20, 2021 8:42 am
by jph

Re: Airmanager and LCD1602

Posted: Tue Jul 20, 2021 4:29 pm
by Fermin
I checked the links above, but I can’t get the display to show anything with Airmanager.

This code shows nothing in AirManager:
-- ARDUINO MEGA 2560 Connections
-- Channel A
--HD44780 - RS RS (Pin 13)
--HD44780 - Enable Enable (Pin 12)
--HD44780 - Data 4 Data 4 (Pin 11)
--HD44780 - Data 5 Data 5 (Pin 10)
--HD44780 - Data 6 Data 6 (Pin 9)
--HD44780 - Data 7 Data 7 (Pin 8)

-- HD44780 2 x 16 Character Display.
display_chr_radios = hw_chr_display_add("radio_display", "HD44780", 2, 16)

-- SImple display on each line of the HD44780 Display
hw_chr_display_set_text(display_chr_radios, 0, "1234567890ABCDEF")
hw_chr_display_set_text(display_chr_radios, 1, "1234567890ABCDEF")


But this code on Arduino does work:
/* Conexiones
PIN 13 - (RS)
PIN 7 - (R/W)
PIN 12 - (Enable)
PIN 11 - (D4)
PIN 10 - (D5)
PIN 9 - (D6)
PIN 8 - (D7)
*/
#include <LiquidCrystal.h>
LiquidCrystal lcd(13, 7, 12, 11, 10, 9, 8); //(RS, RW, E, D4, D5, D6, D7)
void setup()
{
lcd.begin(16, 2); // Inicia un LCD 16x02 (columnas,fila)
lcd.setCursor(0, 0); // Pone el cursor en las coordenadas (0,0)
lcd.print("1234567890ABCDEF"); // Escribe el LCD
lcd.setCursor(0, 1); // Ponemos el cursor en la segunda Fila
lcd.print("1234567890ABCDEF"); // Escribe el LCD
}
void loop()
{
}


The only difference between Arduino and Airmanager is that at Arduino I connected the PIN7 to R/W.

Somebody can help me?
Thanks in advance.

Re: Airmanager and LCD1602

Posted: Tue Jul 20, 2021 6:06 pm
by JackZ

Re: Airmanager and LCD1602

Posted: Tue Jul 20, 2021 11:34 pm
by Sling
Fermin,

Your code looks ok as a first up test to see how it works. What did you do with R/W for the AM test. If you left it disconnected this is why nothing is working. It needs to connect from the LCD to ground (write). I also assume you have any other connections such as power, brightness control the same during both tests.

Tony

Re: Airmanager and LCD1602

Posted: Wed Jul 21, 2021 8:16 am
by Fermin
Thanks Sling, that was the problem.
I had left without connecting the R/W.
Now it works.

Re: Airmanager and LCD1602

Posted: Wed Jul 21, 2021 10:03 am
by Sling
No worries. Glad you got it sorted.