Arduino connected but not working after V4 upgrade

Support for Arduino in combination with Air Manager and Air Player

Moderators: Ralph, russ

Message
Author
jim_in_nh
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2020 11:54 am

Arduino connected but not working after V4 upgrade

#1 Post by jim_in_nh » Mon Apr 26, 2021 12:09 am

Hi folks,

I upgraded to V4 in anticipation of going to FS2020. I've re-flashed my Arduino MEGA 2560, and it shows "connected", but none of my controls are working.

Is there a something I need to add or change to my hardware script to make the Arduino play with V4?

Thanks, and sorry if I missed an upgrade instruction or something.

Thanks,
Jim

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 5102
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: Arduino connected but not working after V4 upgrade

#2 Post by Ralph » Mon Apr 26, 2021 9:39 am

If you flashed your Arduino(s) in version 4 then that's all. Try with starting your instrument from the Create/Edit tab. Use prints, to debug, etc...

User avatar
Corjan
Posts: 2371
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 9:04 am

Re: Arduino connected but not working after V4 upgrade

#3 Post by Corjan » Mon Apr 26, 2021 9:41 am

Hi,


Make sure to add your Arduino using the 'Add device' button on the top.
Air Manager 4.0 does not automatically search for connected Arduino's anymore.


Corjan

jim_in_nh
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2020 11:54 am

Re: Arduino connected but not working after V4 upgrade

#4 Post by jim_in_nh » Mon Apr 26, 2021 6:23 pm

Yep, I added the device and I have re-flashed, from inside V4. Good idea to launch from the create/edit menu...works fine that way!

So what would cause the script to NOT start directly, as it did in 3.7.10? I confirmed the script IS in the panel, and it was launching normally in 3.7.10.

Is there a chance that in V4 the panel script is calling something before the arduino is connected? Is there a function to make the H/W script not run until the Arduino is recognized?

Thanks as always!
image.png

chefpilot
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:51 pm

Re: Arduino connected but not working after V4 upgrade

#5 Post by chefpilot » Mon Apr 26, 2021 8:16 pm

Hi,
I have roughly the same problem. After a while (normally 2-3 minutes) everything is fine when connecting one arduino to Air Manager. However I have hugh problems when trying to connect an arduino to Air Player. I was able to have one arduino working with Air Player but it is not very reliable. I never had a chance to connect more than one arduino.
Any chance to solve the problem?
Marc

User avatar
Sling
Posts: 4440
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Arduino connected but not working after V4 upgrade

#6 Post by Sling » Tue Apr 27, 2021 7:53 am

jim_in_nh wrote:
Mon Apr 26, 2021 6:23 pm
Yep, I added the device and I have re-flashed, from inside V4. Good idea to launch from the create/edit menu...works fine that way!

So what would cause the script to NOT start directly, as it did in 3.7.10? I confirmed the script IS in the panel, and it was launching normally in 3.7.10.

Is there a chance that in V4 the panel script is calling something before the arduino is connected? Is there a function to make the H/W script not run until the Arduino is recognized.
Are you using named hardware? If so are all your hardware allocations in the settings still all correct?

Yes there is a way to not run the script until the hardware is connected. See the API wiki for details on the hw_connected() function.

jim_in_nh
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2020 11:54 am

Re: Arduino connected but not working after V4 upgrade

#7 Post by jim_in_nh » Tue Apr 27, 2021 3:14 pm

Ok. I'll check-out the hardware connected thing and see if holding off fixes it. Thank you. I'm guessing sit in a loop waiting on connected=true or a watch dog timeout? H/W script runs fine if manually launched from Create/edit tab. No changes to the script in months.

Thanks again!

User avatar
Sling
Posts: 4440
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Arduino connected but not working after V4 upgrade

#8 Post by Sling » Wed Apr 28, 2021 2:43 am

Just thinking out loud. Perhaps using a timer and checking once a second for say 60 counts. You could initially add in a message to display the connection time or if you reach the 60 sec timeout.

Mccluress
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2021 10:28 am

Re: Arduino connected but not working after V4 upgrade

#9 Post by Mccluress » Wed Apr 28, 2021 10:31 am

I am having the same problem but I just switched over from simvim. I flashed the arduino and it is recognized and saying it’s working but nothing works on the sim. If I put print messages in the debug I can see it all working. My instruments I’m controlling and the hardware are all tied to an air player. Do I need to connect my arduino into the raspberry or my computer? I’m plugged into the computer right now. I’ll try the raspberry next time I go up. Just at a loss right now.

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 5102
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: Arduino connected but not working after V4 upgrade

#10 Post by Ralph » Wed Apr 28, 2021 11:58 am

If the prints are working, then are you sure that the message (command?) reaches the simulator?
Also it's hard to say without seeing any script(s).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests