Tutorials on electronics

Support for Arduino in combination with Air Manager and Air Player

Moderators: russ, Ralph

eduwushu

Tutorials on electronics

#1 Post by eduwushu »

Hi people

I was wondering if there is any wiki or link where I can learn about the electronics part of seting up a cockpit. As for the moment Im interested in building an instrument panel with some rotary encoders for the instruments that require it like altimeter , or to set the heading bug in the directional gyro etc

As a programmer I feel comfortable with the programming side of things but Im totally ignorant in the electronics side. I found good electronics content in the website for simvim:

https://simvim.com/svc_io.html

They have detailed explanations on how to connect the different electronic components into the arduino. Problem is these tutorials seem to be very specific to the particular way of working of simvim, and there are some differences between simvim and airmanager software for the arduino (simvim for example allows for multiplexer extension boards while I think airmanager doesnt, also they have this "address bus" architecture that I guess is also different). So I was wondering if theres a similar resource done by the airmanager guys. Ive only found stuff related to how add in LUA script the hardware you have connected.
My main concern right now is if one arduino doesnt have enough pins to connect all different encoders and switches you want to put.... are there extension methods, or methods to group components into the same inputs of a board or you should then use multiple arduinos? Once again, I speak from total ignorance so any kind of tutorial would be welcomed if you know any.

Thanks!

Ralph

Re: Tutorials on electronics

#2 Post by Ralph »

There's information here, it's about the Raspberry Pi, but it works just the same as the Arduino.
http://siminnovations.com/wiki/index.ph ... n_examples

Corjan

#3 Post by Corjan »

Hi,