Rpi 4

Support for Air Player on the Raspberry Pi.

Moderators: Ralph, russ

Message
Author
User avatar
Corjan
Posts: 2371
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 9:04 am

Re: Rpi 4

#21 Post by Corjan » Thu Mar 05, 2020 7:29 am

Yeah, that is the goal still :)

User avatar
Keith Baxter
Posts: 2809
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:00 am
Location: Botswana

Re: Rpi 4

#22 Post by Keith Baxter » Tue Mar 31, 2020 4:23 am

Corjan,

Any progress?
Do you perhaps have a image that just works on the pi4 for us to test and play with?

Keith
AMD RYZEN 9 5950X CPU, Corsair H80I cooler, ASUS TUF GAMING B550-PLUS AMD Ryzen Mother Board,  32Gb ram Corsair Vengeance 3000Mh, MSI GTX960 4G graphics card 

User avatar
Corjan
Posts: 2371
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 9:04 am

Re: Rpi 4

#23 Post by Corjan » Tue Mar 31, 2020 7:22 am

Hi,


Oh, sorry, never posted an update here.

There is a new BETA SD image available here:
https://siminnovations.com/wiki/index.p ... ry_Pi_BETA

This image works both on the Pi 2, 3 and 4.

There are some limitations on the Pi 4 though:
- second HDMI port cannot be used
- Only panels that have the same resolution as the screen show up correctly. All others look distorted
- Mouse control doesn't work (touch does).


Corjan

User avatar
Keith Baxter
Posts: 2809
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:00 am
Location: Botswana

Re: Rpi 4

#24 Post by Keith Baxter » Tue Mar 31, 2020 5:50 pm

Thank you for the update Corjan,

I am particularly interested in the dual display so I will wait for you to get that sorted before i start to play with the Pi4.

Keith
AMD RYZEN 9 5950X CPU, Corsair H80I cooler, ASUS TUF GAMING B550-PLUS AMD Ryzen Mother Board,  32Gb ram Corsair Vengeance 3000Mh, MSI GTX960 4G graphics card 

User avatar
Corjan
Posts: 2371
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 9:04 am

Re: Rpi 4

#25 Post by Corjan » Tue Mar 31, 2020 5:51 pm

Hi,

Not sure if I ever can to be honest.
Also, the Pi 4 is not really powerfull enough to render to two displays anyways. Maybe with low resolution, but even then...

What kind of displays do you want to hook up?

Corjan

User avatar
Keith Baxter
Posts: 2809
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:00 am
Location: Botswana

Re: Rpi 4

#26 Post by Keith Baxter » Tue Mar 31, 2020 5:59 pm

Corjan,

They are small 4", 5" , 7" and 10" displays.

For the Garmin 430 the 4" and for the 530 the 5"
For the FMC the 5"
For the zibo efb the 10"

Mainly these ones
https://www.waveshare.com/product/displays/lcd-oled.htm

Keith
AMD RYZEN 9 5950X CPU, Corsair H80I cooler, ASUS TUF GAMING B550-PLUS AMD Ryzen Mother Board,  32Gb ram Corsair Vengeance 3000Mh, MSI GTX960 4G graphics card 

User avatar
Keith Baxter
Posts: 2809
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:00 am
Location: Botswana

Re: Rpi 4

#27 Post by Keith Baxter » Tue Mar 31, 2020 6:57 pm

@Corjan

I already have 2 x RPi licences so was hoping to save a bit there by being able to have 4 instruments running.

1 x RPi4 will run the EDAI (3,5" screen) on one hdmi and the EFB (10.1" screen) on the other hdmi
1 X RPi4 will run the CPT & FO CDU/FMC both (5" screens)



After lock-down is over and my fiber is installed, It would be appreciated if we can do a session to resolve the crash and also the touch screen issue on my 10.1" RPi


That would be around the 23 April I will assume If all go well our side.

Keith
AMD RYZEN 9 5950X CPU, Corsair H80I cooler, ASUS TUF GAMING B550-PLUS AMD Ryzen Mother Board,  32Gb ram Corsair Vengeance 3000Mh, MSI GTX960 4G graphics card 

X-ray_Mike
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2020 5:25 am
Location: Florida, USA

Re: Rpi 4

#28 Post by X-ray_Mike » Tue Mar 31, 2020 9:40 pm

Thanks for the "Air Player 3.7 Home Use (BETA 20)" update, but I am unsuccessful getting it downloaded. Tried a couple of times, but after a few hours I get a download error, and only about 1.60 GB of the file, when i resume it starts from the beginning. I am located in the US (Florida) on a satellite connection so bandwidth and speed are limited. I may wait till things get better before trying again.

Thanks...Stay Safe
X-ray_Mike

User avatar
Corjan
Posts: 2371
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 9:04 am

Re: Rpi 4

#29 Post by Corjan » Wed Apr 01, 2020 8:47 am

Hi,

That is annoying. I might be able to support resumes on the server.
I'll have a look at that today.

Corjan

X-ray_Mike
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2020 5:25 am
Location: Florida, USA

Re: Rpi 4

#30 Post by X-ray_Mike » Sat Apr 04, 2020 3:16 am

UPDATE - download workaround

I had a friend with Google Fiber service download sd_card image. Then broke it down into smaller pieces and uploaded it to Dropbox. I downloaded it and reassembled "sd_card" file and flashed the card. That went well.

Running on Pi4 - not so good

Booted the Pi4 but it hangs on the Sim Innovation screen Hit enter key and takes me back to the TEXT screen displaying:

ERROR Platform HTTP: GET request failed: Couldn't resolve host name

That's as far as I can get, what have I done wrong?

Mike

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests