T-6A Texan II Radio Management Unit (RMU)

Working on a instrument project or just finished a project? Show it to others!

Moderators: russ, Ralph

Message
Author
thistlehead
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2021 7:58 pm

Re: T-6A Texan II Radio Management Unit (RMU)

#11 Post by thistlehead »

Keith!
Wow, Thank you so much for finding the actual control head documentation!. I'll jus call them up and order one. LOL!!!! Wouldn't that be so much easier. LOL.

So upon running the code that changes everything to a string, three of the datarefs now indicate zero, even though AM is receiving the data (little window lower right). These are the variables that indicate what memory channel has been selected and the selectfield indicates what section (there are five) has been selected.
dataref memory UHF selected.JPG
Datarefs for memory not working.JPG
UHF memory channel 14 AM.JPG

thistlehead
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2021 7:58 pm

Re: T-6A Texan II Radio Management Unit (RMU)

#12 Post by thistlehead »

Hello keith. My God!!! You are fantastic. How do I find you on discord. Do I use the discord app?

JackZ
Posts: 2262
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:02 pm

Re: T-6A Texan II Radio Management Unit (RMU)

#13 Post by JackZ »

There is not much of documentation/manual about the RMU 556 radio set on the Net.

The only doc I could find is this one:
https://www.cnatra.navy.mil/local/docs/ ... /P-880.pdf
starting from page 5-6

From here, here's an idea of what can be done with a font closer to the real deal.
image.png
Jacques
Last edited by JackZ on Tue Jul 20, 2021 8:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
My YouTube Chanel on the A320 (Real SOPs by an Airline Pilot IRL):
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... 0Q6SBASRqJ

JackZ
Posts: 2262
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:02 pm

Re: T-6A Texan II Radio Management Unit (RMU)

#14 Post by JackZ »

thistlehead wrote: Tue Jul 20, 2021 6:09 pm Hello JackZ,

Thank you so much for hopping in :-). You font declarations are an eloquent solution. But they seem to perform poorly when run in the code.

Code: Select all

font_style3= "arimo_bold.ttf;"
font_size3= "size:180px;"
font_color3= "color: limegreen;"
font_halign3= "halign: left;"
font_valign3= " valign: top;"
font_string3=font_style3..font_size3..font_color3..font_halign3..font_valign3

img_add_fullscreen("RMU_Background.png")

divider1txt = txt_add("______________",  "size:160px; color: limegreen; halign: left; valign: top;", 20, 270, 1170, 160)
devider2txt = txt_add("______________", "size:160px; color: limegreen; halign: left; valign: top;", 20, 670, 1170, 160)
devider3txt = txt_add("______________", "size:160px; color: limegreen; halign: left; valign: top;", 20, 1070, 1170, 160)
devider3txt = txt_add("______________", "size:160px; color: limegreen; halign: left; valign: top;", 30, 1460, 1170, 160)
UHFlabeltxt = txt_add("UHF", "font_style3..font_size3..font_color3..font_halign3..font_valign3", 70, 20, 240, 140)
Produces a result of a teeny tiny UHF up in the top left corner?

Tiny UHF from font style code.JPG

I have also found what I think to be the actual font used by the model. I think it is ProFontWindows.ttf
exact, i forgot the font tag in the line, like size and color, sorry about that
try instead:

Code: Select all

font_style3= "font:roboto_regular.ttf;"
I found out that it will be WAY easier to leave the frequency as an INT as it is transmitted by the dataref, and simply add a string with the "dot" only for decimals on top of the frequency string.
The added benefit is that you can finely tune the decimal dot's position and even size, relative to the other numbers, as the decimal dot is often padded with spaces in a string.
then use the raw data as follows:

Code: Select all

txt_set(UHFtxt, string.format("%05i", uhf) )
where the %05i ensures that the frequency is always displayed with heading/trailing zeroes such as 012.30.
My YouTube Chanel on the A320 (Real SOPs by an Airline Pilot IRL):
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... 0Q6SBASRqJ

JackZ
Posts: 2262
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:02 pm

Re: T-6A Texan II Radio Management Unit (RMU)

#15 Post by JackZ »

image.png
image.png
My YouTube Chanel on the A320 (Real SOPs by an Airline Pilot IRL):
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... 0Q6SBASRqJ

User avatar
jph
Posts: 2846
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:50 pm
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow..

Re: T-6A Texan II Radio Management Unit (RMU)

#16 Post by jph »

Nice work Jacques !
Joe. CISSP, MSc.

JackZ
Posts: 2262
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:02 pm

Re: T-6A Texan II Radio Management Unit (RMU)

#17 Post by JackZ »

Thanks. It's still a WIP, the Datarefs are tricky to find and use, some buttons only have commands.
And not all the functions are implemented in the addon, as far as I can see

Jacques
My YouTube Chanel on the A320 (Real SOPs by an Airline Pilot IRL):
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... 0Q6SBASRqJ

JackZ
Posts: 2262
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:02 pm

Re: T-6A Texan II Radio Management Unit (RMU)

#18 Post by JackZ »

My YouTube Chanel on the A320 (Real SOPs by an Airline Pilot IRL):
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... 0Q6SBASRqJ

JackZ
Posts: 2262
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:02 pm

Re: T-6A Texan II Radio Management Unit (RMU)

#19 Post by JackZ »

Some progress is made, I have implemented lots of functions as per the real manual that were not present in the addon:*
- STARTUP (PFT) test page
- UHF Memory page
- (Dummy) ATC setup page
- Dimming function & backlighting,
- (Dummy) Squelch for VHF & UHF




talking about the backlighting, I have a strange behaviour (bug?) in AM 3.7.

EDIT: Found it: in the create/edit mode, the instrument is displayed over a WHITE background.
But in the Panel Mode, an instrument is displayed with a BLACK background by default.
So if like me, you are emulating the backlighting by playing with the opacity of a balck rectangle placed over the background, this will not work because the background is already black!
Was solved by choosing a white background (or even better a transparent one) for the background mode.

So it was not a bug, it was a feature :D but it's weird to have a white background in the create mode, and a different one (black) in the panel mode.

Jacques
My YouTube Chanel on the A320 (Real SOPs by an Airline Pilot IRL):
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... 0Q6SBASRqJ

Post Reply