Using same image multiple times

Help and techniques for creating Air Manager Instrument Graphics

Moderators: Ralph, russ

Post Reply
Message
Author
Frit
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2020 1:39 am

Using same image multiple times

#1 Post by Frit » Thu Jul 30, 2020 2:41 am

Hi,

I've been using img_add with the same image several times and then using viewports to pick out the areas of the image I need in relation to that named image node. I went through some of the other instrument projects and noticed that all the parts needed is its own image file instead of using a large file with several parts in it. Is the way I am doing it memory intensive as it is loading the 512X512 image multiple times? Is there a way to define a node using viewports on a master image file that is loaded?

Just curious

Frit

User avatar
Sling
Posts: 4433
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Using same image multiple times

#2 Post by Sling » Thu Jul 30, 2020 3:09 am

There is nothing stopping you from slicing the image into smaller pieces in your favourite image editor and then using the smaller images. Using the same image and viewports has its uses but It’s normally limited to simple instruments such as gear lights or perhaps an annunciator panel.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests