Help with adjusting script to work with MIP light test switch

Help creating logic scripts for Air Manager Instruments

Moderators: russ, Ralph

cypherdious

Help with adjusting script to work with MIP light test switch

#1 Post by cypherdious »

Hi everyone,

I am new here and a total newbie. But have picked up very basic LUA scripting by using available scripts for using hardware to control Xplane.

I am planning to build an OVHD panel and before I actually take on the tasks, I have started looking at creating instrument scripts in Air Manager.
I have managed to use a script for the APU off-on-start and I am using this as a basis for scripting the MIP light test switch which is test-bright-dim.
The issue I have is with the value of the dataref. The APU is basically all +ve value (0, 1, 2) while the light test switch has a negative number (-1, 0, 1).

I read up on the post "Keith's LUA help thread" and this was discussed but I went through the whole thread and couldn't find where Keith was able to resolve
the light test switch issue with the -ve number. The topic on that ended abruptly. Anyway, I used the APU script because its basically the same format being
a 3 ways switch and I couldn't get the switch to control the xp switch properly. Here is the script I have.

Code: Select all

--global vars
xp_switch_pos = 0
hw_switch_pos = 0
state1 = 0
state2 = 0

function read_pin()
--pin3 false = dim		(-1) --> 0 (by adding 1)
--pin4 false = test		(1) --> 2 (by adding 1)
--pin4 and 3 true = bright	(0) --> 1 (by adding 1)
--Numbers between brackets correspond to the numbers from the dataref

state1 = hw_input_read(pin3)
	if state1 == false then
		hw_switch_pos = 1+1					--test
		print (hw_switch_pos, state1)
	end

state2 = hw_input_read(pin4)
	if state2 == false then
		hw_switch_pos = -1+1					--dim
		print (hw_switch_pos, state2)

end

if state1 == true and state2 == true then
		hw_switch_pos = 0+1					--bright
	end