Need a little big help

Questions about deployment and use of Air Manager Instruments

Moderators: russ, Ralph

Message
Author
JackZ
Posts: 2262
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:02 pm

Re: Need a little big help

#21 Post by JackZ »

Sure, in that case, using trig tangent calculation, the slant distance could be computed from the geo distance and height above station, provided we have this data (Navaid station AMSL altitude) in the AM Nav Database..
And from there the ground speed and time to station be derived.
My YouTube Chanel on the A320 (Real SOPs by an Airline Pilot IRL):
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... 0Q6SBASRqJ

User avatar
Keith Baxter
Posts: 4674
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:00 am
Location: Botswana

Re: Need a little big help

#22 Post by Keith Baxter »

JackZ wrote: Mon Sep 20, 2021 5:38 pm Sure, in that case, using trig tangent calculation, the slant distance could be computed from the geo distance and height above station, provided we have this data (Navaid station AMSL altitude) in the AM Nav Database..
And from there the ground speed and time to station be derived.
Jacques,

For all, the math in the scripts was derived from here.

https://www.movable-type.co.uk/scripts/latlong.html

Keith
AMD RYZEN 9 5950X CPU, Corsair H80I cooler, ASUS TUF GAMING B550-PLUS AMD Ryzen Mother Board,  32Gb ram Corsair Vengeance 3000Mh, MSI GTX960 4G graphics card 

JackZ
Posts: 2262
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:02 pm

Re: Need a little big help

#23 Post by JackZ »

Thanks Keith. I remembered playing with the Haversine formulates a while back when trying to help Xp-wm while he was having a go at his PFF/ND attempt.
https://siminnovations.com/forums/viewt ... ance#p4048
My YouTube Chanel on the A320 (Real SOPs by an Airline Pilot IRL):
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... 0Q6SBASRqJ

JackZ
Posts: 2262
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:02 pm

Re: Need a little big help

#24 Post by JackZ »

Great news, I checked the Wiki and the Nav Database in AM4.x has been upgraded and the DME elevation Information is now available.
DME_ICAO String Yes ICAO identifier of the optional collocated DME
DME_LATITUDE Number Yes (Optional) Latitude of the collocated DME
DME_LONGITUDE Number Yes (Optional) Longitude of the collocated DME
DME_ELEVATION Number Yes (Optional) Elevation of the collocated DME (in feet)

Code: Select all

local function data_callback(dme)
  if dme~= nil then
      print("ID:" .. dme["DME_ICAO"] ..”Range:”.. dme["RANGE"].." Elev:" .. dme["DME_ELEVATION"] .. " lon:" .. dme["DME_LONGITUDE"] .. " lat:" .. dme["DME_LATITUDE"])
    end
  else
    print("Error while querying nav data")
  end
end

-- DME query
dme_freq=“112.70”
nav_get("NAV", "FREQUENCY",dme_freq, data_callback)
Last edited by JackZ on Mon Sep 20, 2021 6:46 pm, edited 3 times in total.
My YouTube Chanel on the A320 (Real SOPs by an Airline Pilot IRL):
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... 0Q6SBASRqJ

User avatar
Keith Baxter
Posts: 4674
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:00 am
Location: Botswana

Re: Need a little big help

#25 Post by Keith Baxter »

Jacques,

Yes things come around and go around. No doubt we will be giving pointers to all appreciate members while we can.

Keith
AMD RYZEN 9 5950X CPU, Corsair H80I cooler, ASUS TUF GAMING B550-PLUS AMD Ryzen Mother Board,  32Gb ram Corsair Vengeance 3000Mh, MSI GTX960 4G graphics card 

User avatar
Keith Baxter
Posts: 4674
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:00 am
Location: Botswana

Re: Need a little big help

#26 Post by Keith Baxter »

JackZ wrote: Mon Sep 20, 2021 6:02 pm Great news, I checked the Wiki and the Nav Database in AM4.x has been upgraded and the DME elevation Information is now available.
DME_ICAO String Yes ICAO identifier of the optional collocated DME
DME_LATITUDE Number Yes (Optional) Latitude of the collocated DME
DME_LONGITUDE Number Yes (Optional) Longitude of the collocated DME
DME_ELEVATION Number Yes (Optional) Elevation of the collocated DME (in feet)
Jacques.

Yes that is what I was referring too. :P

Just the AM data airac cycle need to be up to date?? Because i believe FS2020 uses a much update version than AM and also passably Xp

Keith
AMD RYZEN 9 5950X CPU, Corsair H80I cooler, ASUS TUF GAMING B550-PLUS AMD Ryzen Mother Board,  32Gb ram Corsair Vengeance 3000Mh, MSI GTX960 4G graphics card 

User avatar
Keith Baxter
Posts: 4674
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:00 am
Location: Botswana

Re: Need a little big help

#27 Post by Keith Baxter »

Jacques.
download .png
download .png (76.03 KiB) Viewed 2779 times

Shooooo
;) Jacques is coding an instrument. Bet he comes back with something awesome.


However....if you are not happy with the AM nav data you could use your our Navigraph subscription to extract the most updated Airac.
I give guidance to this on the discord.

Keith
Last edited by Keith Baxter on Mon Sep 20, 2021 6:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
AMD RYZEN 9 5950X CPU, Corsair H80I cooler, ASUS TUF GAMING B550-PLUS AMD Ryzen Mother Board,  32Gb ram Corsair Vengeance 3000Mh, MSI GTX960 4G graphics card 

JackZ
Posts: 2262
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:02 pm

Re: Need a little big help

#28 Post by JackZ »

Keith Baxter wrote: Mon Sep 20, 2021 6:13 pm
JackZ wrote: Mon Sep 20, 2021 6:02 pm Great news, I checked the Wiki and the Nav Database in AM4.x has been upgraded and the DME elevation Information is now available.
DME_ICAO String Yes ICAO identifier of the optional collocated DME
DME_LATITUDE Number Yes (Optional) Latitude of the collocated DME
DME_LONGITUDE Number Yes (Optional) Longitude of the collocated DME
DME_ELEVATION Number Yes (Optional) Elevation of the collocated DME (in feet)
Jacques.

Yes that is what I was referring too. :P

Just the AM data airac cycle need to be up to date?? Because i believe FS2020 uses a much update version than AM and also passably Xp

Keith
Well in the case of the OP @vangyver guess this is not a problem, he’s still working with FSX and A2A!
My YouTube Chanel on the A320 (Real SOPs by an Airline Pilot IRL):
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... 0Q6SBASRqJ

JackZ
Posts: 2262
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:02 pm

Re: Need a little big help

#29 Post by JackZ »

Keith Baxter wrote: Mon Sep 20, 2021 6:37 pm Jacques.

download .png

Keith
Nope, my laptop PC is down at the moment due to the charger that fried with a surge due to the latest rainstorm over my house two days ago.
No way I will develop anything AM related only on my iPhone :lol:
My YouTube Chanel on the A320 (Real SOPs by an Airline Pilot IRL):
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... 0Q6SBASRqJ

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 7878
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: Need a little big help

#30 Post by Ralph »

The tricky thing is, I think, to make a link between the frequency, distance to the station and the range power.
Then there's of course also physical obstructions, like mountains, those you cannot compensate for with our data :)

Post Reply