Bendix KN62A, KR 87 and KX155

Questions about deployment and use of Air Manager Instruments

Moderators: russ, Ralph

Message
Author
User avatar
Keith Baxter
Posts: 4674
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:00 am
Location: Botswana

Re: Bendix KN62A, KR 87 and KX155

#31 Post by Keith Baxter »

Hi

Not sure I fully understand what it is you are trying to achieve.

1) You want to connect up 4 X dials(encoders) to the same arduino pins using the common pin as the identifier.
2)
a) You will be using a 4 position rotary switch to select which encoder is in use?
b) You will not be using a 4 position rotary switch to select which encoder is in use. You want the encoder that is turned to auto select.

Keith
AMD RYZEN 9 5950X CPU, Corsair H80I cooler, ASUS TUF GAMING B550-PLUS AMD Ryzen Mother Board,  32Gb ram Corsair Vengeance 3000Mh, MSI GTX960 4G graphics card 

User avatar
Sling
Posts: 5237
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Bendix KN62A, KR 87 and KX155

#32 Post by Sling »

If you are certain that is working then. It just seems odd to be a 3 position switch. Not because of function but because of the pin names. left, right and pulse. I'll post some code on how you have it connected. It shouldn't take long.

Tony

User avatar
Sling
Posts: 5237
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Bendix KN62A, KR 87 and KX155

#33 Post by Sling »

Give this a try. You will have to select the right interval for the timer to give you the right responses. Let me know if you need any explanation.

Tony

Code: Select all

local i = 0
local old_pos = 0

function rotary_encoder(new_pos)
    --common dial callback function
    if (new_pos == old_pos + 1 or new_pos == old_pos - 2) then
        if (i == 0) then
            print("COM MHZ UP")
        elseif (i == 1) then
            print("COM KHZ UP")
        elseif (i == 2) then
            print("NAV MHZ UP")
        elseif (i == 3) then
            print("NAV KHZ UP")
        end
    elseif (new_pos == old_pos - 1 or new_pos == old_pos + 2) then
        if (i == 0) then
            print("COM MHZ DOWN")
        elseif (i == 1) then
            print("COM KHZ DOWN")
        elseif (i == 2) then
            print("NAV MHZ DOWN")
        elseif (i == 3) then
            print("NAV KHZ DOWN")
        end
    end
    old_pos = new_pos
end

com_mhz = hw_output_add("Com Mhz", true)
com_khz = hw_output_add("Com Khz", true)
nav_mhz = hw_output_add("Nav Mhz", true)
nav_khz = hw_output_add("Nav Khz", true)

ROT_SWITCH_ENC = hw_switch_add("ROTENCSWITCH", 3, rotary_encoder)
old_pos = hw_switch_get_position(ROT_SWITCH_ENC)
--old_pos = fif(old_pos == nil, 0, old_pos)

timer_start(0, 10, function()

    --reset all common lines
    hw_output_set(com_mhz, true)
    hw_output_set(com_khz, true)
    hw_output_set(nav_mhz, true)
    hw_output_set(nav_khz, true)

    --cycle through common lines by grounding each one in turn
    i = i + 1
    if (i >= 4) then i = 0 end
    if (i == 0) then hw_output_set(com_mhz, false)
    elseif (i == 1) then hw_output_set(com_khz, false)
    elseif (i == 2) then hw_output_set(nav_mhz, false)
    elseif (i == 3) then hw_output_set(nav_khz, false)
    end
end)

User avatar
Sling
Posts: 5237
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Bendix KN62A, KR 87 and KX155

#34 Post by Sling »

@jasong

You will need to use the following circuit betwwen each of the 4 Arduino output pins and switch common control lines. Resistor can be anything between 1K and 100K. Diode again can be almost anything. 1N4148 signal diode will do the job.

resistor_diode.png

dfly
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2016 6:37 am

Re: Bendix KN62A, KR 87 and KX155

#35 Post by dfly »

DME_Module.JPG
DME_PCB.JPG
This has an the ability to tune and independent Frequency

Please see post at;

https://a2asimulations.com/forum/viewto ... 07&t=69774

for full post and DME Files,


I have been attempting to make a radio stack components. So far I have a DME, almost. I have no electronics experience whatsoever. I just read a lot and used the Fritzing library resources from others to work out the MAX7219. It has an the On/Off switch, a 3 position switch for RMT FREQ & GS/T and the single encoder with pushbutton to changr Mhz/Khz.

I had no original idea at all and relied totally on the generous and amazing work of others.

References used for the PCBs
https://flyingforfun.weebly.com/cessna-172-cockpit.html
http://fritzing.org/projects/

References for the Arduino Script
https://www.mycockpit.org/forums/showthread.php?t=27048
http://thegeekforge.com/2017/11/10/ardu ... ial-001_a/

References XML Gauge for independent Frequency
https://www.fsdeveloper.com/forum/threa ... ml.427308/
https://www.robbiemcelrath.com/fs/guides/gps


regards

dfly
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2016 6:37 am

Re: Bendix KN62A, KR 87 and KX155

#36 Post by dfly »

update: my version of a KX165 radio


KX165_Radio.JPG


https://a2asimulations.com/forum/viewto ... 07&t=71594

regards

User avatar
Ralph
Posts: 7878
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:02 pm
Location: De Steeg
Contact:

Re: Bendix KN62A, KR 87 and KX155

#37 Post by Ralph »

Wow! Looks very good! I was working on BK radio as a hobby project, with memory function and such, but I've never finished it, too much things going on with the baby and such. I'll see if I can find some time to finish it.

Just realized that it's the more modern version I was working on, 165? The one with the memory button.

dfly
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2016 6:37 am

Re: Bendix KN62A, KR 87 and KX155

#38 Post by dfly »

Update:

NAV1,NAV2 and DME Modules incorporated in one Arduino Mega.

Image



Files available from:

https://a2asimulations.com/forum/viewto ... 07&t=71594

regards

jasong
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2019 8:18 am

Re: Bendix KN62A, KR 87 and KX155

#39 Post by jasong »

KN62A Complete,

User can set the RMT source and choose if unit is Primary or Secondary.
Just finishing off some of the hardware code.
kn62a.jpg

User avatar
jph
Posts: 2846
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:50 pm
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow..

Re: Bendix KN62A, KR 87 and KX155

#40 Post by jph »

Hello @jasong
Sorry if I came across this post just now. Really interesting stuff !

Can I please ask if you still have the VFD displays and mounting PCBs from your instruments ? (the original high voltage vacuum fluorescent displays)
I would be very interested in talking to you about the possibility of maybe buying or swapping something for them.
Please send me a private message.
Kind regards,
Joe
Joe. CISSP, MSc.

Post Reply