Adjusting Standby Frequencies

Questions about deployment and use of Air Manager Instruments

Moderators: russ, Ralph

Post Reply
Message
Author
tomlithgow
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2016 3:11 pm

Adjusting Standby Frequencies

#1 Post by tomlithgow »

If you're creating a com or nav radio unit, how do you code it to adjust the standby rather than active frequencies?

User avatar
Thair.nl
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 8:27 pm
Location: EHRD
Contact:

Re: Adjusting Standby Frequencies

#2 Post by Thair.nl »

I use the following fsx_events: COM_RADIO_WHOLE_INC, COM_RADIO_WHOLE_DEC, COM_RADIO_FRACT_INC, COM_RADIO_FRACT_DEC and COM_STBY_RADIO_SWAP for COM 1. NAV1_RADIO_WHOLE_INC, NAV1_RADIO_WHOLE_DEC, NAV1_RADIO_FRACT_INC, NAV1_RADIO_FRACT_DEC and NAV1_RADIO_SWAP form NAV 1.

For COM 2 change "COM_" to "COM2_" and for NAV 2 change "NAV_" to "NAV2_".

Greetings,

Theo.
Boeing 737-800 simulator (under construction): http://thair.nl, Beechcraft Baron B58 simulator (also under construction): http://b58.thair.nl.

JackZ
Posts: 2267
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:02 pm

Re: Adjusting Standby Frequencies

#3 Post by JackZ »

For FSX:
Simconnect Events:
KEY_COM_STBY_RADIO_SET sets the Stdby frequency
KEY_COM_RADIO_SWAP Transfers the Stdby freq to the active freq

Same applies to com2, just add 2to the COM_ part.

Careful though, the frequency must be transferred to Simconnect in the BCD format
In short the frequency in MHz is transmitted in hertz by sending the last four digits (the hundred of MHz is ignored as always on) with the decimal part being the last two digits.
Here's an excerpt of the wiki about this:

"Since the highest order digit in the instrument (gauge) is always 1 (one),
it is not recorded in the BCD representation to save space. (now only 4 digits have to be stored)
e.g.
For a frequency of 136.25
1 is assumed
so the recorded BCD is 3625"

To code this, I recommend to have a look at the brilliant Russ's radio stack code you can find in the store.
Jacques
My YouTube Chanel on the A320 (Real SOPs by an Airline Pilot IRL):
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... 0Q6SBASRqJ

JackZ
Posts: 2267
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:02 pm

Re: Adjusting Standby Frequencies

#4 Post by JackZ »

You beat me on this Theo;-)

Jacques
My YouTube Chanel on the A320 (Real SOPs by an Airline Pilot IRL):
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... 0Q6SBASRqJ

tomlithgow
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2016 3:11 pm

Re: Adjusting Standby Frequencies

#5 Post by tomlithgow »

Thanks for your replies.

Having used FSUIPC to configure buttons, switches, knobs, etc to control FSX, there are specific FSX commands for incrementing and decrementing the standby frequencies (which I have used). These are listed in the FSUIPC documentation. I do not believe that these do not exist as events in simconnect. It looks to me that Microsoft have omitted them from the list in error or otherwise.

JackZ
Posts: 2267
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:02 pm

Re: Adjusting Standby Frequencies

#6 Post by JackZ »

They DO exist, as Theo mentioned earlier:

COM_RADIO_WHOLE_INC, COM_RADIO_WHOLE_DEC, COM_RADIO_FRACT_INC, COM_RADIO_FRACT_DEC and COM_STBY_RADIO_SWAP for COM 1.
NAV1_RADIO_WHOLE_INC, NAV1_RADIO_WHOLE_DEC

I suggest you have a look first at the code of the Russ's Bendix King radio set available in the store, everything is in there...

Jacques
My YouTube Chanel on the A320 (Real SOPs by an Airline Pilot IRL):
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... 0Q6SBASRqJ

Post Reply